Strawberry Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I confess I made this prepared not to like it. I don't like "sweet" in my salad - ever. I only made this as I am leaving town tomorrow and am desperately trying to use things up so as not to waste them. Knowing I don't like anything sweet in either the salad or the dressing, I immediately knew I would eliminate the sugar in the recipe altogether, thinking the honey itself would make this plenty sweet enough. I was right--it was "just right" sweet. What I was NOT right about was how I would dislike this--yes, I was wrong! I'm a convert! This was absolutely delicious! What a wonderful and tasty surprise! This salad is not only lovely to look at, but the buttery mushiness of the avocado, the sweet tang of the strawberries, the crispness of the greens, the nutty crunch of the pecans and the smooth, slightly sweet honey and lemony goodness of the dressing (I made it a point to get it all in one mouthful) is an extraordinary combination of flavors unlike any I've ever tasted. You CAN teach an old dog new tricks, and if it wasn't for the fact that I was cleaning out the fridge I would have never known it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Wheelies201
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
My girlfriend and I went strawberry picking this past weekend and I printed out several recipes from this site. Being a huge avocado lover and having 11 pounds of freshly picked strawberries, I decided this was one of the dishes I would try. I have to admit, I've been using this site for years now and this is the recipe that made me register and finally post a review. All I can say is that this has to be one of the best recipes I have ever tried. The combination of the Avocado and strawberries was breathtaking. The way the pecan matched perfectly with the dressing and the fruit was perfection. I listened to some of the other reviewers and halfed the sugar for the dressing, which was plenty sweet. The only addition I would make would be to add goat cheese. This is simply a preference but the salad was lacking that tarty goodness that goat cheese brings to the table. All in all, this recipe was excellant. My girlfriend ended up making the salad again for her family on Father's day, which everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Edge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wallington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
A great summer salad that is very refreshing. The dressing is delicious (sweet and tangy) We added some wasabi powder to it which seemed to enhance the tangyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very tasty, however a little bit too sweet. May add a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Loved this salad. Used a little less sugar in the dressing the second time around. Threw in some chicken and had a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is quite yummy and very healthy too I might add. I used organic strawberries, which are very sweet, and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushpin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
The salad dressign is amazing. It is a very tasty and refreshing salad. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Very good recipe. I added only 1/2 teaspoon of sugar instead of 2 tablespoons. The rest of the dressing ingredients I left the same. With this change, the dressing was just sweet enough and complemented the avocado and strawberries perfectly. I left out the pecans, but that is just because of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I made this for my family and my parents. My mom is not a big fan of avacados, but she loved it (and so did everyone else)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was great... the honey vinagerette is the perfect touch. It really makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States