Strawberry Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Amazing salad! So delicious. I used a baby blend of spinach and romaine. At first bite the vinegar takes precedence, but the flavors mellow and it is all great together. I love the creaminess of the avocado with the rest of the textures. The olive oil made this a little oily, but I think I used too much dressing on mine when I drizzled it is all. Great salad, pretty too. Thanks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I confess I made this prepared not to like it. I don't like "sweet" in my salad - ever. I only made this as I am leaving town tomorrow and am desperately trying to use things up so as not to waste them. Knowing I don't like anything sweet in either the salad or the dressing, I immediately knew I would eliminate the sugar in the recipe altogether, thinking the honey itself would make this plenty sweet enough. I was right--it was "just right" sweet. What I was NOT right about was how I would dislike this--yes, I was wrong! I'm a convert! This was absolutely delicious! What a wonderful and tasty surprise! This salad is not only lovely to look at, but the buttery mushiness of the avocado, the sweet tang of the strawberries, the crispness of the greens, the nutty crunch of the pecans and the smooth, slightly sweet honey and lemony goodness of the dressing (I made it a point to get it all in one mouthful) is an extraordinary combination of flavors unlike any I've ever tasted. You CAN teach an old dog new tricks, and if it wasn't for the fact that I was cleaning out the fridge I would have never known it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was incredible! I substituted balsamic vinager for honey and apple cider vinager. It kicked but! Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Was awesome, husband said the recipe was keeper, and the dressing was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
If you are a fan of avocados and strawberries, you need to make this! The dressing is delicious and wasn't too sweet for me or my husband. I added feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This unusual salad is not only beautiful to look at but tastes wonderful! Loved the combination of tart & sweet with the creamy avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agarista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe was great! I'm not a big avocado fan, but I loved it. I used baby spinach, almonds and white wine vinegar (that's all I had)... Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very Good!!!! I used 1/2 the sugar and I used walnuts instead. It was a perfect salad. Everyone loved it. The flavors went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Sweet and tasty. I may cut down a little on the sugar next time, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTartaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Wonderfully refreshing. This salad has the perfect combination of flavors, the slight sweet and citrus salad dressing, the sweet strawberries, and the cool and creamy avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States