Strawberry Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by bayer
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Pretty appearance, easy to make, refreshing salad! I only gave it 4 stars since it was too sweet and the sugar gave it a grainy texture. It will be a 5 star recipe after I eliminate the sugar. This made more than enough for 2 but we ate it all any way since it was so yummy. However if you are having a big dinner you may want to make a bit less since it doesn't seem like it will keep well. Please see my lovely photo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This tasted good and was simple and quick to make. I cut the sugar by half and it was more than sweet enough. Next time, I think I might not add sugar at all. Also, I found it a bit too oily, so I may cut the oil in half next time as well. But it tastes yummy. How would it be to add feta to this? Any thoughts from good cooks? (I just know how to follow instructions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Brought this to work for a luncheon, and it was a HUGE hit!! What a great salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great salad. I recommend using toasted almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This recipe was sweet, light and delicious! I will be making it again! The dressing was a little too sweet for my taste, but I tend to like salty more than sweet. I will add less sugar the next time we make it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Light and refreshing. Left out the sugar, used agave nectar instead of honey. Toasted the pecans in a skillet for just a few minutes. DELIGHTFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was SO much better than I thought it would be. I doubled it, but I didn't need all the dressing. It was very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Oh my gosh, this salad was so very, very good. I have already made it 3 times and cannot get enough of it. I am not big on changing recipes, but I did cut the sugar out of the dressing as another reviewer suggested (I like my dressing a little more tangy) - this did the trick. I also prefer cheese on my salad so I added some gorgonzola cheese. The combination of the avocado and strawberries was excellent. I never would have thought to combine but now I think this is one of my all time favorite salads ever. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm surprised by how positive this salad's reviews are. The dressing was too sweet, almost like pouring syrup over my salad. I didn't hate it, but as written, I wouldn't make this again. I tried adding feta cheese and then more lemon juice, but although those cut the sweetness, they didn't make this salad as good as I had hoped. I like the combination of strawberries, lettuce, avocado, and nuts, but the dressing doesn't make the cut. I probably won't try this again, but if I do, I'll leave the sugar out of the dressing or just use another dressing entirely. (This review might be sounding too negative - it was a fine salad, and I ate it all, but I just don't think I'll make it again.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Delicious salad! I omitted the sugar because it was sweet enought with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States