Strawberry Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I give it a four because as written I think the sweetness is overpowering. Otherwise, the recipe is wonderful. However, I never stick to a recipe exactly as it is written, so here were my changes: I used 1 tsp of honey and 1 tsp of organic coconut palm sugar (lower glycemic) in place of all of the sugar/honey listed. I also eliminated the lemon juice (I didn't have any on-hand) and added 1/2 tsp of prepared mustard so that the dressing would emulsify. You can really play around with the ingredients a lot. I used plain almonds instead of pecans (didn't have those on-hand either) and I also added a cored, seeded and cut up yellow delicious apple. The avocado is a MUST. You can really use any salad greens you have. I prefer Romaine lettuce, but really anything goes here. If you are sticking with arugula, you might wish to keep the sweetness factor a little higher than I've posted. Got rave reviews from the family! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This salad is amazing!! Every time I make it people ask for the recipe. A real crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
We didn't refrigerate prior to serving & it was just fine so maybe had we let the flavors blend together it might've been even better. I didn't have any torn greens so used spinach otherwise everything was as called for. I can't believe I've had this recipe in my box since 2007 & hadn't tried it. Will make again that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kailee
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I loved the dressing, just go light on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as written except I used slivered almonds instead of walnuts. The dressing is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I have now made this 5 times and it has become one of my signature dishes. After the first bite the resounding response is that this is"my new favorite salad" I have made it for a little as 2 and as many as 12 and fortunately never have a leftover in site. I changed it up a little by putting the avocado on just before serving and I throughly mix the salad with the dressing as opposed to a light drizzle. Lastly try Natural Cane Turbinado Sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wayne Williams
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good! Not much on sweet but it all went together great. I used spinach for the salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marshie_4
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Love this recipe for a quick meal on a weeknight or entertaining friends with a glass of wine! The honey vinegarette gives just the right amount of sweetness although I left out the sugar for a healthier option. Also added some blue cheese and toasted the pecans for about 5 mins on 375. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Used 2 tsp sugar everything else was as written. Easy, fast. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very refreshing. I used walnuts and the combination was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States