Strawberries with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Gotta admit, the only reason I tried this is because I didn't believe that strawberries with balsamic vinegar and pepper would taste right. Boy was I wrong! My guests and I loved this, especially over vanilla ice cream. The juice made a great ice cream topping! Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was a little hesitant about this recipe, but I had all of the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a try. It was SO good! I was scared about adding the pepper, but it gave it a nice little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I have now made both Balsamic Strawberry recipes on this site and I like this one better. The balsamic vinegar & sugar became almost syrup like after sitting for an hour. I was hesitant to use the black pepper but it was actually very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious...I really love strawberries and usually just dip them in sugar to eat them. My husband recently went to costco and came back with 5 pounds of strawberries and I didn't know what to do with them so I went in search of a recipe. When I found this recipe, I was a bit skeptical...I mean really vinegar marinated strawberries...Well, I made them and they were delicious. It is now my husbands favorite strawberry recipe; he has requested and I have made it several times since the first batch. With all this strawberry it did take us several days to eat it, but I found that the longer it sat in the marinade the better it tasted. So now I marinade it for 2-3 days. Serve with ice cream, eat alone or just top your favorite anything really. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I have been making a version of this for years, but use brown sugar in place of the white. I serve it with a spoonful of whipped cream on top. I think it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Wow - I love strawberries and I love balsamic vinegar but never thought of the two paried together! This is a really great dessert that's so simple and tastes great. It's surprisingly elegant and not to mention low fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was shocked at how well this went over. With over 45 people who tried it, only one didn't love it... and he said he would have, if he could get over the fact that it was Balsamic Vinegar. We served it over sliced French Vanilla Pound Cake from Sam's, but I'd be interested in trying it on crackers with cream cheese. Ours did marinate more than 4 hours, but still, phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I tried this last night over ice cream and was the only one that would eat it and I only ate it so it didn't go to waste. We didn't like this recipe and will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Delicious! I have made a similar recipe to this one before but like this better. The kids went nuts over this. Also, Michael Chicarello (sp) just did a show on this using the same mixture incorporated into vanilla ice cream. I bet that would be terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
What a great change from just strawberries and sugar. My whole family loved it! All I can say is, try this recipe. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States