Strawberries with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
A truly great, simple recipe. I own an olive oil and vinegar tasting room/retail/online store and I use our cinnamon pear or vanilla balsamic vinegar...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
It sounds weird but tastes delicious. I make mine without the pepper and add fresh mint instead. So good over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made this for my parents, who said they liked it. I personally did not: it tasted... well... of vinegar. The strawberries did retain the "strawberry" flavor, but only the "tart" part... the "sweet" part was gone. And since the "sweet" part is the part I like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
What an interesting dessert! I just had to try it. I served the strawberry mixture over vanilla ice cream. With a bit of hesitation, I also sprinkled freshly ground pepper. Of course I served it without broadcasting the ingredients. It was incredible , we just loved it! I can’t wait to make it again to serve to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
As other reviewers I was hesitant about adding the pepper but all the ingredients blended well. I served the strawberries over vanilla ice cream and it was a hit. My husband kept going back for more. This recipe was so easy and is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent! I love this recipe for strawberries. People are really hesitant when they hear vinegar, then even more so when they hear black pepper, but everyone who has tried it, liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I loved it but my family thought it was too vinegary and suggested only 1 tbsp of vinegar. I may try that variation next time to satisfy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Delicious! I was rather tentative about the whole process and my mother was convinced it would be a train wreck - but one bite and the tune changed! I made no changes, besides doing 3 servings, rather 6, so I would be able to make another batch later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This worked well and I would make it again, though I would make a few changes next time. I only had brown sugar so I used that and it worked - I'm sure white is just as good. I let it sit for about two hours, which was plenty. I would have given it 5 stars, except I found that the strawberries without pepper on them tasted better. Though I'm glad I got to experience the flavor, I'd recommend trying it on one berry before going over the whole bowl). Also, before mixing I cut the berries in half as directed by the recipe, but I wish I'd sliced them more thinly for better presentation (they didn't slice as well after soaking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States