Strawberries with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Like so many others here, I was skeptical. My boyfriend, who loves strawberries, was against me trying out this recipe in the first place, because he thought it would ruin the berries. We both - and all of our guests - enjoyed the result a lot, though (ate it with and without vanilla ice cream). We didn't notice the pepper much (noticed too late that we didn't have any black pepper to grind and used the last remnants of an old glass of ground pepper instead, which probably was the problem there). The balsamico taste kind of blends into the background, and instead, the combination of balsamico and sugar really brings out the strawberry flavour. Next time, we'll try serving this with fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Divine! Do not discount the recipe because of the balsamic vinegar - it is absolutely amazing together! Served with angel food cake and whipped creme - perfect combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A fun, surprising, easy, tasty, and unique dessert to show off to guests. Looks beautiful with a sprig of mint in small white dessert bowls. For the time/effort it takes vs. the rewards, it's one of the best returns on investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Spin
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious by itself, with whipped cream, or on a bagel with cream cheese. :) It's also good on a spinach salad. I doubled the balsamic vinegar, and I forgot to add the pepper. I'll have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Spin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Oh my, this was delicious! I can imagine this only works well with a really good quality balsamic though. Some folks weren't too keen on the idea so we made most of the berries with just sugar, then the rest with this recipe (minus the black pepper) & believe it or not, these berries were actually sweeter (but not overly so) & tasted more like strawberries than the plain ol' sugared ones! Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This makes for a great topping on ice cream or even sweet bread (like a strawberry shortcake). I also mixed it into plain Greek yogurt. It didn't keep very well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Have never tried Strawberries with Balsamic Vinegar before this so wasn't sure what to expect. However, we did not like it. Served with whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a delicous way to serve strawberries. Just a word of caution, DON'T USE CHEAP BALSAMIC VINEGAR. It's like cooking with wine, if it's not good enough to drink don't cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These were delicious! I started with about 1/4 a cup of sugar for 2 pounds of strawberries, but kept the balsamic at the stated amount. After an hour or so, I stirred them up again and tasted to see if it needed more sugar. I added about another 1/8 of a cup to taste. We had these over angel food cake and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious! I made pound cake, and served it with these strawberries topped with whipped cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States