Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Knock-you-to-your-knees goodness! And so versatile, too! It would be delicious with so many types of fruit, you can have it year-round. Excellent with a dollop of whipped cream on top. Serving it on top a slice of shortcake, pound cake, sponge cake, or angel cake is entirely optional (but it soaks up the extra syrup and fruit juices for a good distribution of flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Excellent! Very simple but very tasty. The only change that I made was to double the cinnamon because I absolutely LOVE cinnamon. I also served it over vanilla ice cream with sliced fresh strawberries. Delicious! This syrup would also taste excellent over many apple desserts and would offer a tasty autumn flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This stuff is awesome. I also served it over vanilla ice cream, and the flavors were absolutely delicious. So easy, but so elegant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
5 Stars Plus!!! YOWZA!!! I made this exactly except that I made one error which I may continue to keep on doing! I put vanilla ice cream and the strawberries in a desert dish and poured the syrup over that while the syrup was still very warm (stupid move I now know - but we loved what happened!) When the syrup hit the cold ice cream it hardened (like the top of a creme brulee) while it remained syrupy on the strawberries. I cannot tell you how we liked the result. I am going to make it again tonite the proper way but this is a keeper!!! And sooo easy - thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Great stuff, LFRAME - Thanks! Mom used to do something like that, but without the nutmeg. Great on just strawberries - even better layered in a bowl, cooled in the fridge, then adding a couple scoops of homemade vanilla ice cream, strawberries, more syrup and a little whipped cream! Try it with pineapple bits and ice cream, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious! This was so easy to make. At first, I was a tiny bit worried about pouring brownish, warm syrup all over my delicious, freshly picked, unsuspecting strawberries--but I'm glad I did! I let the berries macerate in the syrup for a while, then poured it over pieces of Sara's Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake; first, we sliced the shortcake down the middle, horizontally, then put the syrup on the bottom and top layers. Let that soak while you walk to the corner grocery for some whipped cream...HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Clearly I don't know how to make a simple syrup; this is the second recipe where I've messed it up. I need to buy a candy thermometer and practice a few times! I boiled this for 10 minutes, added the other ingredients, and let it sit for a few minutes off the heat as directed. Well, it hardened in about a minute and wasn't syrupy at all! So I added an extra 1/2 c. of water, re-melted the sugar, and boiled for about 3 minutes. When I took it off the heat, it remained syrupy. I just put it over sliced strawberries and it was tasty...the spices were a nice addition, as was adding a warm sauce. So in spite of my inability to properly boil sugar and water, this still turned out quite yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by w
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I also added coriander for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
A nice and easy way to dress up strawberries. I used Splenda instead of sugar and the consistency was weird so I wouldn't recommend the substitution. Pairs nicely with light Cool Whip for a low calorie desssert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
What a great idea! It reminded me of the way my mom used to prepare strawberries for us as kids. Just sugar, water, and let the sliced strawberries soak for a few hours in the fridge. Making it into a "syrup" with cinnamon and nutmeg definitely gives it a kick. I served it in a wine glass over 2 scoops of ice cream topped with a dollop of whipped cream, garnished with a mint leaf, and there you have a rich, fancy dessert! It'll please the whole family! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States