Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This just didn't work for us. Husband thought it tasted like cough syrup. I boiled it for 12 minutes, and sugar still remained crystalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very easy and tasty! I made this to serve with/over cream cheese-filled crepes. I can't wait to see what else it's good on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
After searching long and hard for a good strawberry shortcake recipe, I stumbled across this for the sauce to pour over top and WOW it was sooooo good! As with most recipes, I take two or three that I like and combine - I ended up blending some strawberries in a blender and adding it to the sauce as well as adding some sliced strawberries to the sauce right before it was done to soak up the sauce a bit, but not become soggy. I also used Splenda in place of sugar and it worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Huge hit at our housewarming party. It was requested for me to bring to the graduation party 2 weeks later. Kids loved it. Topped it with whipped topping. I had double the batch and I think I got 1 strawberry out if it. Went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a ggreat recipe. Simple, savory and sweet. But, I saved on the sugar calories by using 1/4 cup sugar to one pound of strawberries 1/4 teaspoon of stavia instead. Thanks for this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjharbor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I loved this little recipe! My husband and I celebrated last nite, and as a little touch, I added a layer of sweet rasberries with strawberries. Talk about nice! Came out awesome..And to boot, we had a glass of champagne with the dessert, so I dropped a little rasberry and a little slice of strawberry to the glasses of champagne, and it was simply DIVINE!!! He loved it, and it was a great hit. I did as the recipe called for, and to speed up the cooling, I placed the bowls of the fruit in the freezer, so the syrup carmelized the fruit very nicely. Thanks so much! It is a keeper for the holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Absolutely Delicious! I used mine on the french toast waffle recipe on this site. Excellent breakfast for a sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Natomas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I made this recipe tonight for my husband and me, and we both found it equally unappealing. I used the required ingredients, only cut down on the sugar and used about 3/4 cups, and it still tasted horribly sweet. The sweetness of this was incredibly disturbing, and even the sour taste of the strawberries did not help at all. I am a huge fan of cinammon, but it really did not work in this case with all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very different, but delicious. Great on ice cream, but I prefer them alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States