Strawberries Flambeed in Vodka with Hot Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
What a neat recipe! It really plays with your senses! the cold ice cream is actually hot and the warm sauce is actually soothing! This was a fun treat to make AND to eat. Very tasty!! Five stars for originality and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was good, but next time I would not add the butter, vodka and hot sauce. I found it a little too spicy for my family. I will definetley make this again with my new modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My strawberries did not flambee... so I ended up with a dessert that tasted like a martini gone wrong. I even used Absolute 100!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Absolutely loved this. The ice cream is pretty spicy by itself, but the flavor and sweetness of the strawberries balances it. (Think of salsa...some is hot but not flavorful, some has both spice and flavor.) I served this over slices of pound cake. Oh, and the recipe easily makes enough for four people...it's way too much for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Well, this was really interesting. Made it for company and all liked it but me. The ice cream really is hot! and cold. It's so unique. Each one by themselves isn't good, but if you get both in a bite it's good. We used 99 bananas as the vodka to give it that strawberry banana flavor. It flambeed great and definitely was a crowd pleaser. Served little sundaes in martini glasses. Eat immediately or it all melts into a soupy mess. Next time I will cool the strawberries a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very interesting and different, my fiance loved it! The mixture of sweet cold and spicy almost tastes like cinnomon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I DID THIS WITHOUT THE HOT SAUCE, IMPRESSIVE YET APPEALING TO THE EYE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I found it very difficult to get the vodka to light. I recommend using a skillet and removing it from the heat before add the vodka or it's liable to boil off before you get to light it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
A very very different taste. But a very very good one! The ice cream had a definite kick to it, but it wasn't too intense. I also added some raspberries. I'll make it again, but definitely make sure everyone eating it enjoys spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STUMPYRACCOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Strange but good! Husband liked it more than I did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States