Stracciatella II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'd love to try it as directed, but this was quick and easier and what I had on hand. Here's what I did different: 1) I only had chicken breast on hand, so I boiled two large ones whole with veggies like step one says to, but I added chicken bouillon because I didn't have the carcass to provide flavor. 2) Instead of cooling the broth and blending it with a portion of veggies, I put all the veggies in at the beginning. Then after 45 min. I scooped out about 1/2 the veggies and just blended them with a hand mixer and then added it back into the soup along with the chicken after I chopped them into small pieces. 3) In step four, it calls for 3 cans of broth to pour the eggs into, but I only used about 1 1/2 cans and I had more than enough liquid in my soup. One more thing... b/c I used bouillon for flavor in step one, it was a little salty, so I would omit the salt if I made it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent. I've made this many times now. Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and made quite a few adjustments just to make the soup a little thicker and with some more substance. I also added more lemon juice. The extra lemon juice really helps brighten up this soup. Overall a very good soup for a different spin on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Used Filini pasta (mini noodles) instead of rice; used less salt; more spices; added chopped spinach at the end; with mushrooms for a FANTASTIC soup! Served with fresh french bread from this site.. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I did not use the 3 cans chicken broth and reduced the carrots down to 7 and celery down to 4 due to the reduced amount of liquid. I also reduced the eggs down to 3. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
pretty good, makes lots of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I have used this receipe may times it was my mother"s recipe too except she skipped the carrots.She got it from the old country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This has to be one of the finest soups I've ever enjoyed, although I did tweak the seasonings a good bit to allow for personal taste preferences. The pureed base alone is extraordinary and I have made it twice now in that manner for lunch gatherings to effusive compliments. This will be an heirloom recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My husband loved it, but I thought it was a tad bland and next time I would use parm instead of romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The perfect chicken soup. The ingredients are pretty classic for a chicken soup and if you put in quality you will most certainly be rewarded with a fantastic meal. I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States