Stracciatella II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'd love to try it as directed, but this was quick and easier and what I had on hand. Here's what I did different: 1) I only had chicken breast on hand, so I boiled two large ones whole with veggies like step one says to, but I added chicken bouillon because I didn't have the carcass to provide flavor. 2) Instead of cooling the broth and blending it with a portion of veggies, I put all the veggies in at the beginning. Then after 45 min. I scooped out about 1/2 the veggies and just blended them with a hand mixer and then added it back into the soup along with the chicken after I chopped them into small pieces. 3) In step four, it calls for 3 cans of broth to pour the eggs into, but I only used about 1 1/2 cans and I had more than enough liquid in my soup. One more thing... b/c I used bouillon for flavor in step one, it was a little salty, so I would omit the salt if I made it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent. I've made this many times now. Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and made quite a few adjustments just to make the soup a little thicker and with some more substance. I also added more lemon juice. The extra lemon juice really helps brighten up this soup. Overall a very good soup for a different spin on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Used Filini pasta (mini noodles) instead of rice; used less salt; more spices; added chopped spinach at the end; with mushrooms for a FANTASTIC soup! Served with fresh french bread from this site.. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I did not use the 3 cans chicken broth and reduced the carrots down to 7 and celery down to 4 due to the reduced amount of liquid. I also reduced the eggs down to 3. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
pretty good, makes lots of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I have used this receipe may times it was my mother"s recipe too except she skipped the carrots.She got it from the old country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This has to be one of the finest soups I've ever enjoyed, although I did tweak the seasonings a good bit to allow for personal taste preferences. The pureed base alone is extraordinary and I have made it twice now in that manner for lunch gatherings to effusive compliments. This will be an heirloom recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My husband loved it, but I thought it was a tad bland and next time I would use parm instead of romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The perfect chicken soup. The ingredients are pretty classic for a chicken soup and if you put in quality you will most certainly be rewarded with a fantastic meal. I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States