Stracciatella II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I couldn't blend the vegetables into the broth, because I didn't have any. I also used shell pasta instead of the rice. This soup was well-seasoned and delicious. Thanks, Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've made this many times -- the only change I suggest is to increase the lemon juice if you like. Otherwise it's a winner -- I serve it at the holidays a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and made quite a few adjustments just to make the soup a little thicker and with some more substance. I also added more lemon juice. The extra lemon juice really helps brighten up this soup. Overall a very good soup for a different spin on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent. I've made this many times now. Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'd love to try it as directed, but this was quick and easier and what I had on hand. Here's what I did different: 1) I only had chicken breast on hand, so I boiled two large ones whole with veggies like step one says to, but I added chicken bouillon because I didn't have the carcass to provide flavor. 2) Instead of cooling the broth and blending it with a portion of veggies, I put all the veggies in at the beginning. Then after 45 min. I scooped out about 1/2 the veggies and just blended them with a hand mixer and then added it back into the soup along with the chicken after I chopped them into small pieces. 3) In step four, it calls for 3 cans of broth to pour the eggs into, but I only used about 1 1/2 cans and I had more than enough liquid in my soup. One more thing... b/c I used bouillon for flavor in step one, it was a little salty, so I would omit the salt if I made it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This has to be one of the finest soups I've ever enjoyed, although I did tweak the seasonings a good bit to allow for personal taste preferences. The pureed base alone is extraordinary and I have made it twice now in that manner for lunch gatherings to effusive compliments. This will be an heirloom recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
WOW- This was really good! MAKES A TON. Delicious. Subbed 1 C Orzo for the rice. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This soup was excellent! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. It is a little time consuming, but very interesting to make. I have never poured eggs into a hot liquid, so I was a little nervous, but I poured a thin stream as it says, and the eggs turned into nice little strings. I wouldn't add any more seasonings because I think it would mask the slight taste of the spinach and romano cheese. This is definitely a soup you could serve guests and I will be making it again. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
delicious....what more can be said?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Yummy! We loved this soup! I made it exactly as the recipe said and thought it was delish. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States