Stovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
this is a great meal, you can also add a cup of sour cream to make it creamier, also leave out the onions if you dont like them but make sure the corned beef has been chilled in the fridge before cutting up. and it does not taste like corned beef hash if done right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This Recipe is great! Traditionally eaten on St. Andrews day. It is best not to use canned corned beef as it is high in fat, and tends to taste like tin. Instead get it fresh from a deli or butcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a fine stovies recipe! Tastes fab- (more mushy potatoe and less soaked in gravy and meat than the other) I was surprised when I was introduced to stovies like this when I moved into Angus region. I got a bit addicted on ones like this I'd get from the butchers on my lunch break from school. Great with a splash o'gravy or brown sauce. Stop yer whingin and give them a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racincake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
There are many legitimate ways to make Scottish stovies and this is one of them. This is a tasty recipe that should not be dismissed for using corned beef. Don't worry if the milk doesn't cover the potatoes (depends on how "large" the potatoes are)--it will cook down to a nice, thick consistency. Leftover slab corned beef would be an improvement over the canned or deli varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I turned this into a quick dinner on a busy weeknight. I used leftover pork chops and a frozen package of mixed veggies. If you want breakfast? Top it with a fried egg::))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I was raised with stovies made with minced lamb. This is a great hash recipe but not stovies. Try minced lamb for a more authentic taste. Sometimes my dad would add a dash of nutmeg. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a recipe for Corned Beef Hash!! Stovies is made with lorne sausage & link sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Maybe I needed to be Scottish! With the effort involved, it tasted almost like canned corned beef hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I agree with Floobie. This dish should be made with sausages or with out meat and served with left over roast lamb. It is also best if you can to use any fat left from the roast lamb for frying the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States