Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This just turns into a syrup goop. I think the portions are wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was easy and delicious. I used the cranraisins instead of the dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Wow! I ate this for breakfast and then lunch and as a snack all day long. We used oat groats, organic sucanat sugar instead of brown sugar and dried apricot pieces instead of cranberries. The groats provide a crunch and the flavor is more than amazing. You may also want to experiment with toasted flax and sunflower seeds. All are great additions to this simple recipe. I'm eating the remains of my granola as we speak. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This granola is flavorful. Of course, I did the tweaks recommended by other users--broiling to toast the oats, adding some other fruits, cutting the oil, etc. I think I was expecting something more like store-bought granola, and this is more oat-y. That is 100% evident from the recipe, just, don't expect this to taste like a box of granola. Expect it to taste like buttery oats with fruit and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is delicious and so easy. I quadruple the recipe, but use only one stick of butter and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Not Bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
It was quick and definitely easy. The only part that was kind of weird was that the sugar caramelized on the stove top and the granola had a caramelly flavor. It wasn't bad but my husband asked if I had burned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Great base recipe! I made another granola recipe from this site using the microwave - followed instructions exactly and burned the batch. Plus, the flavors weren't quite right. This recipe, however, is great! Here are the changes I made to suit my tastes: Omit olive oil. Used 1 c oats and 1 c corn flakes. Reduced butter to 1 T., used 1 T honey and 1 T maple syrup. Used full amount of brown sugar. Subbed coconut flakes for cranberries. Melted butter, honey, syrup, sugar til bubbly, added all other ingredients plus pinch of salt, teaspoon of cinnamon and tablespoon of flaxseed. Stirred on medium heat for about 3 minutes. That's it! Great flavor. I know, "she made a totally new recipe", you're saying. Well, I was inspired by my failure and this stovetop version. Thanks for a successful granola recipe Mamiscookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe but if you like granola double it. I did delete the olive oil. I toasted the almonds lightly and set them aside to cool. Then I toasted the oats dry very lightly. I mixed the brown sugar, honey and butter together and heated tll everything was melted, not long. Mixed it all together, spread on cookie sheet, put in a 250 preheated oven and turned it off to dry the granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a good base. I've been making granola bars for a very long time and wanted some broken up granola for my greek yogurt. I toasted the oats in the oven (accidentally burned them, oops!). I substituted applesauce for the butter, raisins for cranberries, and flaxseed for almonds. I also added in some peanut butter. This turned out very very sweet, which was not a bad balance for the tanginess of greek yogurt. But still, I would cut the sugar either in half or maybe even leave out completely the next time. I think the honey and dried fruit alone would sweeten it up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States