Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
It was quick and definitely easy. The only part that was kind of weird was that the sugar caramelized on the stove top and the granola had a caramelly flavor. It wasn't bad but my husband asked if I had burned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Great base recipe! I made another granola recipe from this site using the microwave - followed instructions exactly and burned the batch. Plus, the flavors weren't quite right. This recipe, however, is great! Here are the changes I made to suit my tastes: Omit olive oil. Used 1 c oats and 1 c corn flakes. Reduced butter to 1 T., used 1 T honey and 1 T maple syrup. Used full amount of brown sugar. Subbed coconut flakes for cranberries. Melted butter, honey, syrup, sugar til bubbly, added all other ingredients plus pinch of salt, teaspoon of cinnamon and tablespoon of flaxseed. Stirred on medium heat for about 3 minutes. That's it! Great flavor. I know, "she made a totally new recipe", you're saying. Well, I was inspired by my failure and this stovetop version. Thanks for a successful granola recipe Mamiscookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe but if you like granola double it. I did delete the olive oil. I toasted the almonds lightly and set them aside to cool. Then I toasted the oats dry very lightly. I mixed the brown sugar, honey and butter together and heated tll everything was melted, not long. Mixed it all together, spread on cookie sheet, put in a 250 preheated oven and turned it off to dry the granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a good base. I've been making granola bars for a very long time and wanted some broken up granola for my greek yogurt. I toasted the oats in the oven (accidentally burned them, oops!). I substituted applesauce for the butter, raisins for cranberries, and flaxseed for almonds. I also added in some peanut butter. This turned out very very sweet, which was not a bad balance for the tanginess of greek yogurt. But still, I would cut the sugar either in half or maybe even leave out completely the next time. I think the honey and dried fruit alone would sweeten it up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Easy, but to moist. I may bake it next time. I did reduce the brown sugar & butter as recommended by others so I can't imagaine how wet it'd been otherwise. I added raisins for more dried fruit. If made into bars the ingredients should stick together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I'm looking at the Nutritional Information...529 calories and 30.3 g of fat per serving! Needs some serious adjustment on amount of butter and the brown sugar. Wouldn't use all those calories and grams of fat on about 3/4 cup of granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I cut the sugar in half and still it didn't need to be quite as sweet. Also, I think I could have added another cup of oatmeal to stretch it a bit more and still be yummy. The flavor and method were great, however, so I will be making this again and playing with it until it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Even after baking in warmed oven for 20 minutes, it was still a little soft for my liking. I recommend making it a day ahead of when you plan to use it. Once stored in a container, it hardened up to a nice texture the next day. Other than this, it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We have made this recipe two times. Excellent! Read a couple of the other reviews and come up with your own variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I subbed in coconut oil which added some good flavor. Something just seemed to be missing. A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States