Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I love this recipe but I tweak it just a little bit....I add dried cherries and pomegranate in addition to the dried cranberries. I also add chopped pecans in addition to the almonds. For an extra twist I added in unsweetened coconut. I like to add the dried fruits and nuts to the honey, butter, and brown sugar mixture and then add it all to the toasted oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It's a great base I cut the butter 1T, honey 1T, and brown sugar to 1T then add 1T molasses melt on stove with 1/2t salt 1t vanilla. Meanwhile I baked the oats and almonds at 350 keep CLOSE EYE or they'll burn. Once oats/almonds done add to sugar mix coat thoroughly then return to cookie sheet sprinkle with cinnamon bake 5 min turn add cranberry bake 5 min. Then cool 10 min add semisweet chips while still warm. Then finish cooling and store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
a little too sweet, just reduce the brown sugar and honey a little. Kids LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Shepard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is five stars all the way! I made this as written with the exception that I used sugar in the raw instead of brown sugar. The granola wasn't as sweet, so to make up for the sweetness I just added a bit of white sugar to the jogurt. A lot of reviews that I read reduced the butter to a couple of tablespoons but I decided to use the entire amount instead. The granola wasn't gooey at all. It had a wonderful butter flavour, and after the granola dried, you could make the clusters as big or as small as you would like. The granola was crispy the day I made it, but after I stored it tightly in a glass jar, it turned out wonderfully chewy. My kids aren't really into granola, but they enjoyed snacking on this one. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing, mamaiscooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was the easiest granola I've ever made. It's so much easier to achieve a toasty flavor without crossing that razor-thin threshold into burnt when you're using a skillet instead of the oven. For added nutrition, I stirred 1/2 cup of flax meal in with the oats, and it's not even perceptible! I will definitely make this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Quick, easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love all of the wonderful suggestions for this recipe. It took me longer to decide which version to make as to prepare it. I stuck with the totally stovetop method because it's July and too hot for turning on the oven! I used all ingredients listed, also added a quarter cup each of wheat germ, flax meal- at the end, and chia seeds - love the crunch! Also threw in coconut, walnuts and extra dried fruit by the handful, vanilla and almond flavorings, and finally an extra cup of oatmeal because I knew it would be too sweet for us. The result after five minutes of stirring was heavenly! Thanks for the inspiration, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I loved this! I'm going to use it as streusel topping, too. I agree that you could add more oats if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is my first time even tasting granola, much less making it. I think I may have cooked it too long, but lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So easy on the stovetop!! Just make sure to cook it long enough so it won't be sticky when it cools. I added 3 different kinds of nuts, cranberries and cinnamon...and more oats! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States