Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very yummy...can't get enough! Followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the about of oats to 4 cups. Made for just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I wanted to give this recipe 5 stars because I do like it, but I gave it 4 instead because I'm glad I made the modifications I did, at the suggestions of others. The biggest modification I made was that I doubled the amount of oats to 4 cups but left the remaining ingredients the same (especially the sweeteners--this must taste like candy if you don't). For a bit of extra flavor, I also added a splash of vanilla extract and a sprinkle of cinnamon, but I imagine it would still be good without this. It was still a bit sweet for my tastes, but I was looking for an easy, healthy recipe (I have a baked granola I also like). This one is close if you leave everything the same and double the oats. And, of course, you're free to mix in whatever extras you do or don't want--I didn't have almonds, for example, and it's still delicious. Perhaps because of my doubling the recipe, I also had to increase the cooking time by a few minutes at the beginning and end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was very easy to make, and easy to customize. I'll definitely make it again and maybe add more oats. (If anything, it was a little sweeter than I thought it would be.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is the best recipe EVER! I've been making it for several months and I can't make it wrong no matter what I do! It's fabulous. I've switched out the sugar for Xylitol and the honey for agave and it still tastes great. I've added everything you can think of, but my favorites are coconut, chocolate chips and dried cranberries. And pecans! YUM. I'm addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Super easy and a crowd favorite! I would highly recommend this recipe - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Nummy!!! Doubled oats and oil, more almonds, sunflower seeds. Vanilla, salt, cinnamon. Baked in oven a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made granola but only with what i had on hand. so i did not follow the recipe to the fullest....i cooked the oats for about 15 minutes because they didnt seem to get as toasty as i needed them until than. I than took a nice piece of peanut butter/chocolate fudge id recently gotten from the board walk and melted it down and poured it over the oats and added dried cranberry and cinnamon! I ate it over plan life cereal and i loved the taste! I also saved some for a snack n it was very good cold/dry for snacking during the day! Thanks for the start I love having fun with oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newfoodie-Rell
Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I used coconut oil instead of olive oil and butter. Instead of butter to melt my sugar and honey, I used 1/3 cup of apple juice (got this idea from Vegan Granola on AR). And of coarse granola has to have vanilla (2 tsp)and cinnamon (1 tbsp). I added sunflower seeds & raisins. I thought it was a little sweet so I added a pinch of salt and a handful more of oats. Really easy concept & fast. I will definatly play around with this one some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
VERY YUMMY! I live overseas and unfortunately our oven doesn't go below 350F...so I needed to find something I could cook on the stove. This turned out wonderful. I added the chopped almonds (left out cranberries), some dried banana chips, sunflower seeds and a few walnuts. SOOOO GOOD! Even my picky 2 year old can't keep his hands out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
this was really great! my first attempt at making granola and i am really pleased! the only part that confused me was knowing when the oats were beginning to cook. i feel like i could use this as a good base recipe for all different types of granola! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States