Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nakia
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this today and it was amazing! Like others I made a few variations: added a tablespoon of peanut butter, cinnamon, used grape seed oil, added coconut, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe was so yummy and easy! The whole family loved it! I exchanged toasted coconut instead of the nuts, and it was a big hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maejean Hammar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made the recipe, having high hopes for a quick and crunchy granola because of the ratings. This came out soft and soggy for me. I will visit this recipe again because the method has potential; success may lay in the exact temperature of the cooked butter-sugar mix, and perhaps I didn't cook it long enough or high enough, which would affect the degree of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I love this recipe but I tweak it just a little bit....I add dried cherries and pomegranate in addition to the dried cranberries. I also add chopped pecans in addition to the almonds. For an extra twist I added in unsweetened coconut. I like to add the dried fruits and nuts to the honey, butter, and brown sugar mixture and then add it all to the toasted oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It's a great base I cut the butter 1T, honey 1T, and brown sugar to 1T then add 1T molasses melt on stove with 1/2t salt 1t vanilla. Meanwhile I baked the oats and almonds at 350 keep CLOSE EYE or they'll burn. Once oats/almonds done add to sugar mix coat thoroughly then return to cookie sheet sprinkle with cinnamon bake 5 min turn add cranberry bake 5 min. Then cool 10 min add semisweet chips while still warm. Then finish cooling and store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
a little too sweet, just reduce the brown sugar and honey a little. Kids LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is five stars all the way! I made this as written with the exception that I used sugar in the raw instead of brown sugar. The granola wasn't as sweet, so to make up for the sweetness I just added a bit of white sugar to the jogurt. A lot of reviews that I read reduced the butter to a couple of tablespoons but I decided to use the entire amount instead. The granola wasn't gooey at all. It had a wonderful butter flavour, and after the granola dried, you could make the clusters as big or as small as you would like. The granola was crispy the day I made it, but after I stored it tightly in a glass jar, it turned out wonderfully chewy. My kids aren't really into granola, but they enjoyed snacking on this one. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing, mamaiscooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was the easiest granola I've ever made. It's so much easier to achieve a toasty flavor without crossing that razor-thin threshold into burnt when you're using a skillet instead of the oven. For added nutrition, I stirred 1/2 cup of flax meal in with the oats, and it's not even perceptible! I will definitely make this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Quick, easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love all of the wonderful suggestions for this recipe. It took me longer to decide which version to make as to prepare it. I stuck with the totally stovetop method because it's July and too hot for turning on the oven! I used all ingredients listed, also added a quarter cup each of wheat germ, flax meal- at the end, and chia seeds - love the crunch! Also threw in coconut, walnuts and extra dried fruit by the handful, vanilla and almond flavorings, and finally an extra cup of oatmeal because I knew it would be too sweet for us. The result after five minutes of stirring was heavenly! Thanks for the inspiration, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States