Stovetop Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
A really good base oldfashioned made from scratch pudding just add a cup or two of sugar...or more per your taste and its really good... I love this in the double boiler meathod.. tastes like granny's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thebodystop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I believe the submitter had to have forgotten the sugar. No way could you make a vanilla pudding mixture without some sugar. That being said I added 1/2 cup of sugar, and another full cup of milk. Followed directions, which makes for a messy looking dessert, but it tasted pretty good. I don't think I'll make it again as I would rather layer my banana pudding in a pretty bowl, and add either whipped topping or sour cream to my pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I added 1/2 cup of sugar like others recommended, but also took the flour (i used whole wheat) to 1/2 cup and added a total of 2 cups of milk. I mashed up the bananas and added it to the mixture and used vanilla animal cookies. It was good and the kids loved it. I'd make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Turned out great after adding 1 cup sugar and 3 cups milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Ok, so I didn't read the reviews 1st....I was in a hurry. I didn't notice there was no sugar until I was finished?? It does get way too thick before i boils, but I just kept stirrin & folded in bananas (which I only was able to get in 2) & cookies. It tasted like bland banana paste......BUT, today (the next day) it has sweetened by the bananas & cookies, so it's not THAT bad. However, I won't make it again. :( & this was my 1st EVER attempt at banana pudding.....disappointmet :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I noticed this recipe didn't ask for sugar, but I wanted a stovetop pudding. So, I used one 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk and 2 cups of regular milk. I added 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also added 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon to the milk mixture. I used 4 bananas instead of six. After the pudding thickened and was removed from the heat, I still had to add a splash more milk to get it to pudding texture. With all these modifications, it was pretty good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
If you make sure to add the sugar, this recipe is really good and fairly easy to make. I wanted to make 'nana puddin' for the first time and I chose this recipe because it was the only one where I had all the ingredients already on hand. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I personally thought this was good even without the sugar. When I tasted a little bit after I poured it over my nilla wafers it dawned on me I hadn't added sugar. In my opinion the cookies and bananas sweetened it up just enough. I am a cancer patient so I didn't need any added sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was awful. I added extra sugar and milk, like other people suggested, but we did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Montgomery Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I kinda thoughts it was pretty good, made it for brafast for my brother and grandfather this morrning lol. grandpa argues that it was dessert. i kinda added a bit to much cinnom but it trund out real well. add more cinnimon in place of extra sugar, for morning meal at lest. don want to over douse on sugar first thing in the morn...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States