Stove Top Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very helpful the roast was tender! Needed more salt but other than that it was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We followed the recipe except we added some McCormick beef base to the water. The roast did not fall apart and there was not much flavor to it, or the veggies. There would have been even less flavor if we had not added the beef base. We will not be using this recipe again. Disappointing. How did some of you rate this as the BEST pot roast you have ever made?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I browned this in butter first. I omitted the turnips & celery. I added some beef boullion to the water. It was really good. It came out more moist than when I make it in the crock pot...I was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
It was a nice change of pace rather than roasting in the oven or the slow cooker. I added boullion to the water, as well as worcestshire sauce, red wine, and a small can of tomato paste. I didn't even have to thicken the sauce since it was thick enough after cooking down the meat. My 3.25 lb. roast took about 1.5 hours to cook with the lid partially on, then another 30 minutes for the carrots and potatoes (the store didn't have any turnips). We really enjoyed it, and are looking forward to open face sandwiches and gravy tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made this as directed and was disappointed with how bland everything was. The meat just tasted like boiled meat - the seasonings didn't penetrate the meat like other recipes I've tried. Also, I don't think the vegetables spend enough time with the beef in this method. They were lacking that yummy "infused" taste. I have a friend who makes the best pot roast and she does it on the stove top, so I had high hopes for this recipe. This was definitely the least enjoyable pot roast I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was the most aromatic and delicious dish I have ever made! I did change a lot around, though, and am so happy that I did. I also added beef stock, molasses, worcestershire and extremely healthy "splashes" of red wine. I used a great deal of sea salt and fresh cracked pepper to season the roast. Then, I chose to use 3 tbsp of olive oil and put a really hard sear on the beef so that all those yummy juices were sealed in. I added the onion to the oil and cooked for about 4-5 minutes, then the garlic for about 2 minutes, so some nice carmelization could add texture and depth of flavor. I used about 3 parts beef stock to 1 part water until I covered the roast, and then added some Worcestershire and a good dose of red wine (I used a Zinfandel). Once it came to a boil and I reduced heat to a simmer, I also added 2 bay leaves and the stems from the fresh parsley that I add later in the recipe. When I added the potatoes, I doused the stew in wine again. And again when I added the carrots. Once I turned off the heat, I chopped up from some fresh Italian parsley and basil and added them, along with salt and pepper. Fresh herbs retain their flavor best if added at the end of cooking. Finally, I removed the roast and tore it into chunks, then I added it all back to the pot and cooked another 10 minutes just to really add to the tenderness of the beef. It was just so wonderful!! In fact, I found myself in there picking at the potatoes again and it's 7am! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I read this receipe and thought it would be good but I noticed there was no tomato paste or tomato sauce or beef bouillon. So I added 2 cans of tomato paste, 1 can of sauce and some beef boulillon, and some spices, and what do you know it was great so I say it was a 5 star after all the extra stuff I added to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I must have done something wrong because this recipe was a total disappointment. It was too watery, flavorless, and boring. I followed it exactly and should have added spices, as well as some type of thickener. Sorry -- not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Totally foolproof. I added beef bullion cubes to the water instead of broth. Chuck roast (usually tough) came out so tender! Oh and it only took an hour an a half total for a 2 lb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The best pot roast ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States