Stove Top Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I took some ideas from DannyBoy and boy was this tasty! I bought a 3 lb. English cut roast (the pull apart roast) which is my favorite. I seasoned it good with salt & pepper and a spice blend called "Greek Seasoning" that we get at Walmart of all places! It has several other spices in it and we love it on roasts. I seared it in some canola oil for about 3 minutes on each side until it was nice and browned. Then I added 6 cups of beef broth (4 regular and 2 low sodium) and 2 cups water. I also added about 3/4 Cup of Sutter Home Cabernet, several shakes of Worchester sauce and a couple of good pours of Tamari (concentrated Soy sauce). Lastly, one packet of onion soup mix. Then one red onion chopped, two onions cut in half and then sliced, 3 stalks of celery (with leaves included), 8 peeled and quartered potatoes and 2 large bunches of fresh carrots, peeled and sliced in 3" sections with the fat end cut in half. I added all the veggies right in with the broth because we like the flavor of the broth to penetrate the veggies. This was so delicious! And the best part is when we were done eating we just let the pot come to room temp and stuck the whole pot in the fridge! The next day we brought it out, heated it up and had another delicious meal without any additional pots to clean! After the 2nd meal we used the rest of the meat for BBQ beef sandwiches and the broth for French Onion Soup and it was wonderful!!! Nice way to get several great meals from one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was a pretty standard recipe. It's not hearty, as far as pot roasts go. As another reviewer stated, the flavors did not meld together. The taste was standard, rather bland. I think I'll skip this one next time, but it was a meal that my family ate without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, the only difference is I add one packet of Onion Soup Mix after I brown the roast as I'm adding the water. You have to have this to get that roast flavor that's is so good. If I don't have that you must add beef bouillon cubes. I did add a splash of red wine today like others suggested so I can't wait to taste it tonight! I serve mine with Hawaiian butter rolls to soak up all the good broth. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is the way my mom always cooked pot roast, and the way I have always done it. I dredge the roast in flour seasoned with Zendher's All Purpose Seasoning before browning, and add beef bouillon cubes with the water. I toss in tiny pearl onions, baby red creamer potatoes, and baby carrots, for a delicious dinner that requires almost no effort but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Read Stucki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Great recipe to use as a guide/base. Perfect if you have never made a stove top pot roast before. As you see in the xomments there are many additiins you can make. I use demi glace, dried shitake mushroom powder from Fogwood Foods, fresh thyme, fresh basil, egyptian dried basil, vidalia onions and I roast my yukon potatoes first then add at the end. Also, i use local butter and purple moon merlot in the beginning. Killer dish no matter how you do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Worst I have ever done. Could not eat it. BAD BAD BAD. Tough, watery, awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
i cooked as the recipe stated. my roast was big so it took about 4 hours. i tasted the broth of this and ended up tweaking it before i served it. if i make this again ill use beef broth instead of water, up the garlic and use a bigger onion. it wasn't bad it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this to night. Followed the recipe very close. My roast was only 2#, no parsnips, added some leftover Merlot, and a couple Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce as mentioned by another poster. Tasted great! I made a grave with the drained liquid by adding 2cups of the juices in to the pot with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. I thickened it up with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch in 1/4 cup cold water. Brought it all to a boil stirring all the time until the gravy was thick as I like. Whole meal was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I imagined this would be a little bland so I added some gravy mix and soy sauce. It had the perfect flavor. The meat was tough though. It may have just been the cut itself. I think this was an easy recipe and will try again but get my meat from a different place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very easy, meat was so tender it could be cut with a butter knife and vegetables were soft, the timing was right. I followed the recipe as written and used water, and I thought the flavor was not as "beefy" or rich as it could be, next time I will follow review suggestions and try beef broth. My husband enjoyed his meat with a horseradish mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States