Stove Top Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We loved this method of cooking pot roast! The roast was tender and juicy. We took some of the tips like using beef broth to cover the roast and omitted the turnips. It is replacing our bake in oven bag method we have used for years. Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Totally foolproof. I added beef bullion cubes to the water instead of broth. Chuck roast (usually tough) came out so tender! Oh and it only took an hour an a half total for a 2 lb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This review is for mainly the method. I'd never braised a roast on the stove top before so I was very happy when my boneless shoulder roast came out very tender. We don't like our veggies too mushy so I didn't cook them with the roast. I just followed the recipe for the spices. Smelled great while cooking and the roast was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
What can I say about this wonderful recipes?!? NO LEFTOVERS!! The only substitute I did was using beef broth. This took the place of my usual pot roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This rating is based on the cooking method only. I make pot roast one way but will change the cooking method from the crockpot to slow cooking it in the oven. I kept forgetting to put the roast on to cook because I was sick and distracted. Finally, I thought of the stove top method and found this recipe to help me out. I browned the pot roast as directed. Seasoned it with salt and pepper and browning sauce. Put a can of beef broth in the pot and simmered away. I kept checking it the way I would if it was in the oven but I really didn't need to. I never had to add any additional water. It was so tender and the gravy was wonderful. This will be my method from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The best pot roast ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
It was a nice change of pace rather than roasting in the oven or the slow cooker. I added boullion to the water, as well as worcestshire sauce, red wine, and a small can of tomato paste. I didn't even have to thicken the sauce since it was thick enough after cooking down the meat. My 3.25 lb. roast took about 1.5 hours to cook with the lid partially on, then another 30 minutes for the carrots and potatoes (the store didn't have any turnips). We really enjoyed it, and are looking forward to open face sandwiches and gravy tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I browned this in butter first. I omitted the turnips & celery. I added some beef boullion to the water. It was really good. It came out more moist than when I make it in the crock pot...I was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Never made pot roast before, and never heard of making it on the stove top. But it was great! Very nice flavor. Meat was tender, vegs were soft. I did add some beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this to night. Followed the recipe very close. My roast was only 2#, no parsnips, added some leftover Merlot, and a couple Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce as mentioned by another poster. Tasted great! I made a grave with the drained liquid by adding 2cups of the juices in to the pot with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. I thickened it up with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch in 1/4 cup cold water. Brought it all to a boil stirring all the time until the gravy was thick as I like. Whole meal was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States