Stove Top Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This rating is based on the cooking method only. I make pot roast one way but will change the cooking method from the crockpot to slow cooking it in the oven. I kept forgetting to put the roast on to cook because I was sick and distracted. Finally, I thought of the stove top method and found this recipe to help me out. I browned the pot roast as directed. Seasoned it with salt and pepper and browning sauce. Put a can of beef broth in the pot and simmered away. I kept checking it the way I would if it was in the oven but I really didn't need to. I never had to add any additional water. It was so tender and the gravy was wonderful. This will be my method from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good but need to add LOTS more spices - salt, pepper, maybe worstchester (sp?) sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
What can I say about this wonderful recipes?!? NO LEFTOVERS!! The only substitute I did was using beef broth. This took the place of my usual pot roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I think this would have been boring if I made it as described. With a few slight modifications it became a complete delight. I used some diluted chicken broth (didn't have beef) instead of water. Your liquid will cook down so you don't need to use the stock at full strength. I used a smaller roast (1.5 pounds). Added a splash of shiraz, a dash of worcestershire sauce, and about 2 tbsp of molasses at the same time as the stock. Also, I added the celery tops and thin bits (don't throw out the leaves - they are good seasoning in stews and roasts). When adding the potatoes, I also added a splash of soy sauce and about 1 tsp of tarragon flakes, and another tbsp of molasses. At the end of the line, about 5 minutes before removing from the heat, I added a good splash of shiraz and a very healthy grind of fresh black pepper. Don't put the pepper in too early as the recipe instructs, as you will cook the flavor out of it. I cooked this recipe with a lid half on, and had to add about 1 cup of water halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We loved this method of cooking pot roast! The roast was tender and juicy. We took some of the tips like using beef broth to cover the roast and omitted the turnips. It is replacing our bake in oven bag method we have used for years. Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This review is for mainly the method. I'd never braised a roast on the stove top before so I was very happy when my boneless shoulder roast came out very tender. We don't like our veggies too mushy so I didn't cook them with the roast. I just followed the recipe for the spices. Smelled great while cooking and the roast was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed the suggestion to substitute beef broth, and the recipe was very good. My roast was almost 4 pounds, but for some reason it cooked in less than 2 hours. Use a meat thermometer to check if the roast has reached the desired temperature, so you don't overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goddess522

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used beef stock instead of just water to give it more flavor. This is a really great classic roast beef dinner. I did leave out the turnips though, noone in my house will eat them. But with the carrots and potatoes it was still great. This is defenitly a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States