Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I just made this recipe, and the dough looks good, and while it was chilling in the fridge, i noticed that the recipe didnt call for an egg. is this an oversight, or doesn it not need an egg?...just curious.... ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Renee ZimmermanGeist
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
easy to make. I used smaller cutters and made them thinner and they came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Blackledge Corroo
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
These are very good soft cookies. The dough was very easy to handle once chilled. They were mildly flavored. That is good for me because I make particularly spicy molasses cookies with butter regularly. These are different but just as good and easier to make. I added a tiny bit of allspice and mace to the dough. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These cookies are fantastic- I've been looking for a tasty gingerbread cookie recipe that would stay soft, and these fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. The gingerbread men stay so soft and are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Have been making these for every Christmas for the past five years and my kids and family member love them and look forward to them every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These turned out great! I added the egg yolk as suggested in a review, and I added a heaping tsp of the cinnamon, allspice,ginger and nutmeg. I baked them for 9 mins, and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anahid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I could tell that this was going to be a pretty easy dough to work with after it came together. I did chill it for about an hour. It is a sturdy dough, and they hold up after they come off the cookie sheet. I like mine spicier so added accordingly. The flavor is great, but 10 min. was enough in my oven. I suggest cutting these out thicker, as they are more of a gingersnap type texture if made too thin and at 12 min. I will put a slice of bread in the container to soften some of them up some. thanks for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I don't know what went wrong. The dough, chilled overnight was very dry and crumbly. I had to add water both when mixing and rolling. The flavour and texture, once worked was very good. The only thing I could think of is that I may have erred when measuring. Anyways, my mini ginger men were tasty, not hard and spiced just right. My dog stole some off the cupboard, so she liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Add 2tsp 5spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg lefever titter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States