Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These cookies are fantastic- I've been looking for a tasty gingerbread cookie recipe that would stay soft, and these fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. The gingerbread men stay so soft and are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Have been making these for every Christmas for the past five years and my kids and family member love them and look forward to them every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These turned out great! I added the egg yolk as suggested in a review, and I added a heaping tsp of the cinnamon, allspice,ginger and nutmeg. I baked them for 9 mins, and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anahid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I could tell that this was going to be a pretty easy dough to work with after it came together. I did chill it for about an hour. It is a sturdy dough, and they hold up after they come off the cookie sheet. I like mine spicier so added accordingly. The flavor is great, but 10 min. was enough in my oven. I suggest cutting these out thicker, as they are more of a gingersnap type texture if made too thin and at 12 min. I will put a slice of bread in the container to soften some of them up some. thanks for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I don't know what went wrong. The dough, chilled overnight was very dry and crumbly. I had to add water both when mixing and rolling. The flavour and texture, once worked was very good. The only thing I could think of is that I may have erred when measuring. Anyways, my mini ginger men were tasty, not hard and spiced just right. My dog stole some off the cupboard, so she liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Add 2tsp 5spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg lefever titter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was so easy to make - and perfect. My kids loved making and eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I followed the recipe exactly except that I added 1/4 teaspoon of cloves. I did find that I had to work some extra flour in when rolling them out between two sheets of waxed paper. I put parchment paper on my cookie sheet and they were simple to remove with no problems of breakage, etc. I even refrigerated half of the dough overnight and still had to add the flour. The cookies are a mild flavored soft gingerbread. They freeze well and taste just as good when they have been thawed out. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these for stocking stuffers for my neighbors and coworkers. Tastes like something is missing. They are not totally inedible just bland. Too much work for nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States