Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out amazing! The cookies were soft and delicious. I was very concerned when I made this - the dough was SOOOOO soft, but rolling it out on floured parchment did the trick. We like our gingerbread a little spicy so I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cloves, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also cooked them for only 9 minutes. The first batch was done for 11 and my oven may run a little hot, so 9 worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Eh... I really had higher expectations for these cookies. I usually enjoy milder gingerbread so judging by the reviews I thought I would like this. Unfortunately these were too blah. They turned out fine for decorating so we will have a lot of fun with these, but as far as giving them out to family, I don't think so. The dough was so easy to work with, required no chilling, and I used another reviewer's recomendation to roll between two sheets of wax paper, perfect and now mess, so that is why it is getting 4 stars. Taste - 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe. Using my "KitchenAid" made this a breeze. I blended the shortening and brown sugar for a full five minutes, till almost fluffy, and gradually added the molasses and water. Using a sifter, mix all the flour, baking soda, and spices in another bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, one cup at a time. The "KitchenAid" does all the work. Everything was measured exactly as the recipe called for. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I'm really surprised on the reviews on this one! I've never made Gingerbread but the kids wanted too. I just took out of the oven a few minutes ago decorated one, ate it and they are awesome!!! I followed the recipe except I used butter flavored crisco for the shortning (its what I had) and added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves plus a little more cinnamon. Rolled between wax paper and the rolled great, cut great and came right off the pam sprayed cookie sheet just perfect! They are not real spicey which I like better and when the kids wake up from a nap they are going to decorate! I think these are a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is the first time I have made gingerbread cookies, and this recipe was not only easy to follow, but the cookies looked and tasted great! I love the mild flavor - most gingerbread I have tried in the past has been too spicy. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This turned out perfect for a gingerbread house. I did add 1/2 tsp of allspice. There was no problem using the dough right away. I just made sure to roll it between sheets of wax paper. This recipe made just enough for the walls and roof pieces for our cookie house, and a couple little men to put out front.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These cookies turned out perfect! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These cookies turned out pretty good, though just a little dry and not as spicy as my usual gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsy Maire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I love 'em, hoo hoo, all em other ones taste soooooo bad, but this, man, hoo hoo, this is the way to glory! Amazing, grace! How sweet the sound.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
At first I didn't care too much for these. But the longer they sat, the better they became! They became softer, and much move flavorful. Went from a 3* to a 5* in about 3 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States