Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe. Using my "KitchenAid" made this a breeze. I blended the shortening and brown sugar for a full five minutes, till almost fluffy, and gradually added the molasses and water. Using a sifter, mix all the flour, baking soda, and spices in another bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, one cup at a time. The "KitchenAid" does all the work. Everything was measured exactly as the recipe called for. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I'm really surprised on the reviews on this one! I've never made Gingerbread but the kids wanted too. I just took out of the oven a few minutes ago decorated one, ate it and they are awesome!!! I followed the recipe except I used butter flavored crisco for the shortning (its what I had) and added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves plus a little more cinnamon. Rolled between wax paper and the rolled great, cut great and came right off the pam sprayed cookie sheet just perfect! They are not real spicey which I like better and when the kids wake up from a nap they are going to decorate! I think these are a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is the first time I have made gingerbread cookies, and this recipe was not only easy to follow, but the cookies looked and tasted great! I love the mild flavor - most gingerbread I have tried in the past has been too spicy. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This turned out perfect for a gingerbread house. I did add 1/2 tsp of allspice. There was no problem using the dough right away. I just made sure to roll it between sheets of wax paper. This recipe made just enough for the walls and roof pieces for our cookie house, and a couple little men to put out front.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These cookies turned out perfect! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These cookies turned out pretty good, though just a little dry and not as spicy as my usual gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsy Maire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I love 'em, hoo hoo, all em other ones taste soooooo bad, but this, man, hoo hoo, this is the way to glory! Amazing, grace! How sweet the sound.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
At first I didn't care too much for these. But the longer they sat, the better they became! They became softer, and much move flavorful. Went from a 3* to a 5* in about 3 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Excellent gingerbread flavor and the dough is verstile. I've made gingerbread men and houses. The dough rolls out well and is easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! My 7yo and I have a strange tradition of making these when school ends in May and decorating them with jellybeans or M&Ms. We have done this for several years and used this recipe. Thanks for the post and the memories! I also made them for Christmas and hung them on the Christmas tree as ornaments but our Boston terrier likes them, too, and he would pull them off the tree and eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States