Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My son is allergic to dairy and eggs and this was great for him. Made it for a kid's Christmas party and the cookies were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
What a great recipe! Every cookie came out perfect...nothing like a perfect man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These are pretty good. I rolled the dough out on floured parchment as another user suggested and it was very easy to work with. They aren't spicy enough for my taste and have a stronger molasses taste. They have a nice chewy texture that I like. A good cookie, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Great recipe. I was looking for a recipe that didn't come out of the oven hard; these are soft in the middle but not "cake like"; I did keep the cookies in a tupperware container which I think kept them from going hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
classic gingerbread recipe, goes perfect with this icing: 1 tablespoon margarine 3 tablespoons boiling water 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger 1/8 teaspoon salt 2 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar also, dont overcook these, you will be able to taste it and they do get hard when they dry and butter your pan as they stick i would also recommend decoring heavily with icing and using margine such as sticks like Parkay. thay turnd out fine that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used the recipe for smaller (2 to 3 inch cookies), and they are perfect. I ended up with about 50 cookies per batch. The only problem is that they weren't gingery enough for my tastes. I would suggest adding a pinch or 2 more ginger. Also try the "Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies" for added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Pretty good and easy to make-- not very sweet, definitely needs some icing, but other than that, a very good dough to work with. Bakes to be the same brown as the raw dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are certainly soft. So soft in fact, that when I wrapped them up and put them aside overnight and went to decorate them the next day, I discovered that they had broke up into gingerbread...body parts. Oh well, the taste was there, but the cookie itself was too sweet. Will not make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out amazing! The cookies were soft and delicious. I was very concerned when I made this - the dough was SOOOOO soft, but rolling it out on floured parchment did the trick. We like our gingerbread a little spicy so I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cloves, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also cooked them for only 9 minutes. The first batch was done for 11 and my oven may run a little hot, so 9 worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Eh... I really had higher expectations for these cookies. I usually enjoy milder gingerbread so judging by the reviews I thought I would like this. Unfortunately these were too blah. They turned out fine for decorating so we will have a lot of fun with these, but as far as giving them out to family, I don't think so. The dough was so easy to work with, required no chilling, and I used another reviewer's recomendation to roll between two sheets of wax paper, perfect and now mess, so that is why it is getting 4 stars. Taste - 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States