Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very easy recipe!!! My kids loved helping cut out and frost these cookies. I didn't have all the molasses that the recipe called for so I substituted 1/4 karo syrup to make up for the difference. Cookies still tasted great. I am making this recipe again in the very near future. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph7271
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was my very first time making gingerbread but they came out absolutely fantastic. I know I like my gingerbread a little spicier so I took the advice of others and added ginger, cinnamon, allspice, cloves and nutmeg on top of the spices in the recipe. The dough was sticky. I suggest only rolling out a small portion and keeping the rest refrigerated until ready to use. If it gets too sticky, put it back in the fridge and pull some from the chilled portion. I've tried different types of icing but I like Paula Deen's for decorating cookies. 3/4 cup powdered sugar and add 1 Tbl milk. Mix. If you need more milk, add by the dropful. A little milk goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T, except added 1/2 tsp more ginger and also cinnamon. It turned out too dry and flaky and wouldn't bind so I had to add more water - I'd say I added another 1/3 of a cup. Because the dough was so stiff I didn't chill it - it rolled well but it was difficult to get very thin. I used 4" cutters and the recipe made 16 cookies - not sure why the recipe says 5 servings? So the Nutrition Info is incorrect. I only baked them for 9 minutes and 12 would have been WAY too long for sure! Thank goodness I am an obsessive watcher of my baking! They were quite cakey, but I like that, however even with extra spice they still weren't very gingery. Would be good for people who like it very mild! Was great to decorate and it is more delicious the day after for sure! It's not super sweet, so that's what sold me on this recipe in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I love this recipe, but I have to give it four stars rather than five for the following reasons. The baking time was entirely to long, perhaps because of altitude differances? I found 12 minutes made them burn, and cut back the bake time several times until they came out perfect, Finally settled at 7 1/2 minutes baking time for a perfectly browned and soft cookie!! The dough was a bit bland, so I added 1 tsp. ginger 1 tsp allspice 1 tsp cloves and 1/2 tsp ginger. The first batch I made and followed the recipe exact and was not pleased that 1/2 of my cookies were ruined due to finding an appropriate cooking time. the second batch I made with my alterations. This recipe is a four but mine with alterations got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were delicious and easy to make! We went to the neighbors and decorated them and had a great time. Perfect crunchy and chewy gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I doubled the recipe to give me a nice army of gingerbread men. I ended up cutting the molasses with about 1/4 cup of honey because when I smelled the molasses, I became horrified and worried I wouldn't like the cookie flavor. I added all other ingredients as written. The dough is wonderfully easy to work with, unlike Eileens Spicy Gingerbread men. I baked them for about 9 min and they came out crispy on the edges, tender in the middle. The flavor is mild, and not too spicy. Overall, I think this is a good recipe. I like my gingerbread men a tad more "cake like" so I will keep with Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men recipe nest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My two year old daughter and I made these today. The dough was so easy to work with and I loved that we could roll them out right away instead of having to let the dough chill. I agree with some of the other reviews that they may not be the best tasting cookies- but they are definitely kid friendly which for this project was more important :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Since this was my first attempt at making Gingerbread Men, I found this recipe extremely easy to make AND roll out. The dough was glossy and smooth, on a lightly floured surface rolled out perfectly! Lifted up with no effort, and I agree with the recommendation to use a wide spatula. Flavor was good, not too overpowering. Just right mixture of ginger and molasses. Decorated with Royal Icing recipe from this site, and it was tons of fun for my 7yr old! She was amazed at how good they came out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
perfect recipe, doubled ginger, kept in lock n locks very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Me and my family thought this was delicious. The one problem was that when I kept them in the oven for as long as this recipe told me to, they came out really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States