Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Everyone really liked these! They come out with a bit of crunch on the outside but soft and chewy inside. I am not a "gingerbread person" but I liked them too. Not too strong of a ginger flavor like some. It was just right! The dough was a bit soft and fragile for me but I consider myself an experienced baker so next time I will add a bit more flour. Also a huge tip for people who say theirs is too stiff... you may be packing your measuring cup too full. You should scoop the flour into your measuring cup then level it off. It is much easier to add more flour than to take away! Also Sifting really is important, if you do not own one you can use a whisk in your flour container to loosen up and fluff your flour, just swipe the whisk around gently a few times. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is the first time I made gingerbread cookies. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly. Cooked 11 minutes at 350, and the cookies have a great texture and are nice and chewy. Good gingerbread flavor. Took one advice and rolled the dough out between parchment paper, made dough easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was pretty unimpressed with this recipe. Most of the comments were good so I thought I would try it while my friend made a differnt one. Hers was 100% better. We feel their was A) not enough cinnamon B) too much molasses which gave it a very awful taste and C) there was no egg in it? please save yourself from disappointment and use a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great recipe, tastes really great. I like a little more bite from the ginger, so I added 1/2 tsp. The dough was also a little crumbly, so I just added about 1/8 cup of shortening after chilling and it came out beautifully. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We took the suggestion of slightly increasing the ginger, and that made it exactly what we wanted. We took our gingerbread men to a party, where they immediately vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The best Gingerbread recipe I have ever used. I substituted the shortening for margarine, and it turned out great! Very Yummy. Will make it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made these with butter instead of shortening, and at high altitude, and they turned out great! I didn't roll them, just made balls and then flattened them with my palms. I thought that 12 minutes might have been too long since I really wanted them to stay soft, so I experimented and found that 11 min was perfect in my oven. Anything less and they didn't fluff up. I did add a LOT more spice and ginger; they are very mild without it and seemed slightly bland. I also dusted mine with powdered sugar after they cooled. They stayed soft and the dough kept well in the fridge for 2 days when I got busy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were very easy to prepare, not too sweet and have a beautiful brown color. I didn't decorate mine with icing, but it probably would have added the perfect touch. I will make them again, but I will consider adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
great cookies and sturdy to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Having never made or even eaten a gingerbread cookie ever these were fantastic. My kids really wanted to bake some for Christmas cookies and I thought that they would be tricky. But they turned out wonderful & were very soft, but not so soft that they fell apart on you. Follow the directions & you can't go wrong. The ONLY thing I did differently was I had to add just 1-2 tbs. more of water, These will definitely be a Christmas tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LES09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States