Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was my first time at ever making gingerbread men and I was really nervous. They turned out so great and they were perfect for decorating. I definitely would give this five stars in a heartbeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I only changed shortening to Becel margerine. The rest as is and this recipe is simply fantastic. The cookie is crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. If anyone had issues, they must have done something wrong. Thanks Annamaria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
An excellent gingerbread recipe with wonderful flavor and texture! As others suggested, I increased the amount of ginger greatly. I also added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
pretty good recipe, not the best I've had, but pretty good, I would do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious gingerbread men! Never thought I cared much for them, but after making this recipe, I have changed my tune. My three year old son was slamming on them! I had to hold back eating one while decorating them for gifts for people. Really, just don't over-bake them, cool them properly, and they really are a good, and soft, cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdypartridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catlett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I am so disappointed in this recipe. All I can taste is the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Dark, spicey, but still retain their sweetness. The proper thickness keeps them soft, baked for 6 minutes then let cool for 5 before transferring to wire racks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious! I made the dough for my kindergarteners to cut-out, bake, and decorate. I was afraid that they might not hold up after all that, but they were great! One mom even asked for the recipe the next day after having a nibble of her child's cookie. I will use this recipe every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
good recipe, still would like to find a softer recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Mmm! I didn't have shortening so I used butter, no difference really. I didn't bother sifting everything else either since I lack a sifter. In other words, I'm quite the lazy chef. =D I also made them about 1/8th inch thick since I don't like really fat cookies, I like them crunchy and thin, so I left them in the oven for an additional 4-5 minutes or so. I like it better this way. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States