Storm of the Century Hurricane Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Over 20 years ago I was caught in a real hurricane. If you drank this as a regular-sized drink you might just end up being a disaster area like the hurricane I was caught in. Mrs. Spunky said this was something she might have drunk and enjoyed 35 years ago (and probably did) but not today, for the same reason. Hurricanes are strong, and so was this. That being said, this made a decorative and tasty mini-drink, which in small doses is good and fun to share with friends, especially when they see that seven different liquors go into it. As for us, we’re wimps – between the two of us together, we split half a drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I did not care for it. Try Hurricane I instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
One of these and I was done drinking for the night. I used 1 of the small 50ml bottles each with a splash of triple sec with about 4 oz of oj. I did notice that that drink had less of a kick when the triple sec was left out. I would advise that you either share one of these or pace yourself. More than one could get ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
made this for a small mardi gras soiree following dawn's recipe (2/27/06) for a punch bowl's worth. it was tasty but definitely potent and one of those drinks that goes down waaaay too easy. everyone loved it but were thankfully responsible (except for me - but i wasn't going anywhere). would definitely make again, tho possibly add more OJ and a little less booze just so people could enjoy more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very tasty but dangerous. Do not drink and drive. A terrific drink to celebrate Fat Tuesday at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was VERY strong. I don't think I will make again. I used OJ and fruit punch and my friend liked alot. I have had better drinks. Too sweet and strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was a strong cocktails wp we turned it into a cordial...we had stemmed shot glasses that we garnished with a thing wedge of orang and a cherry and sipped! Later we added fruit punch and ice and turned it into a drinkable cocktail...will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Holy Huricane! I left out the gin and added xtra oj and a can of pineapple juice and they were still pretty deadly! Everyone loved them so much that they couldn't drive home afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Wow oh wow!! My husband and I aren't big drinkers and this drink packs a firm punch! Way too much alcohol for my taste and I had to delude it with more orange juice to even make it drinkable. My husband only drank 1/2 a small glass. If I make this again, I'll not use 3 different rums, just one will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Although traditional hurricanes are a good bit sweeter and a little less strong, this has become my and my husband's favorite! I recently hosted a NOLA themed luncheon and served these as the cocktail. It was a huge hit. Be forewarned! It does pack a huge punch with the final product being about 50 proof (as much liquor as a straight shot of most whiskeys). I've made this as directed with great results, and I suggest trying it that way first before changing the recipe to taste. I've also, though, made a few alterations to taste (and liquor availability). Adding an additional part orange juice doesn't change the taste that much. I've also substituted raspberry schnapps for Chambord when it was out in my local store with no taste change. If you want to make a big batch, as I did for a get together, it does keep very well pre-mixed in a sealed container in the refrigerator for about two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holly Pond, Alabama, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hurricane Cocktail

See how to make New Orleans’ sweetly potent cocktail.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Grateful Dead Cocktail

See how to make a fruity variation on the Long Island iced tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States