Stole My Heart Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good dessert. I used a Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix (I always use Duncan Hines). I used 2 cans of cherry pie filling instead of 1, because 1 can would barely cover the top of the cake, and I used an 8-ounce Cool Whip instead of whipped topping mix. **UPDATE** I made this again, but I used an 11x15-inch pan instead of a 9x13-inch, which worked out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My co-workers loved it. I beat together the whipping cream, sugar, and cream cheese all together and spread on the cake, then poured the cherry pie fillig on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe was great! I did add the whipped topping, but would've of been good either way. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Took it to my husbands work. They all enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This cake was excellent and easy to make. It stays moist and the cream cheese layer really pulls it all together. My family ate it within a few days. By the last piece, the whipped topping was beginning to dry out a bit. This would be a great cake for a potluck or party, when you are fairly unlikely to have leftovers! I'll make this again, I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
The taste is good, the whipped topping isn't really necessary though. Also, when spreading the cream cheese, make sure to warm it up a little or else the cake will tear. I'd make it again without the whipped topping. Overall, a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Looks as good as it tastes! Don't leave off the topping, it really adds to the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Very yummy! I took this to a Sunday dinner before Valentine's Day and everyone loved it. I did modify it some. It made so much cream cheese filling I used it in the middle and frosted the top cake with it. I used the cherry filling that ran off to decorate the top. I didn't use any whipped topping. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This cake is the best combination of cherry cheesecake and black forest dessert--we loved it! I left out the whipped topping (because my cake baked up so wonderfully fluffy, there wasn't enough room at the top for it), and it was perfect even without. This is a great make-ahead dessert that I will definitely make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday, and he LOVED it. In fact, I gave some to my neighbor, and she's been asking me to make it again ever since! This cake lasts an amazingly long time in the refrigerator, and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States