Stir and Drop Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I needed a cookie recipe at the last minute (I had about an hour) for my daughter to take to school. Luckily I found this recipe. Not having everything, I modified it, and made a double batch: I beat the oil and eggs to emulsify them. Since I only had olive oil, I used brown sugar (with a little white sugar when the brown ran out). Since I didn't have lemon, and I wanted a stronger flavor to cover the olive oil anyway, I put 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract in with the vanilla. A couple shakes of cloves and nutmeg, and about 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, went in with the flour. I used whole wheat pastry flour, since that's what I use for everything. I used a teaspoon to apportion the cookies until I realized the time and then made them closer to a tablespoon. They were removed when the edges were brown, and I got 9-11 dozen, guessing. I used parchment paper, let them cool on the paper off the pan for a minute, then dumped them into the box to take to school. They were flattened slightly with a shot glass bottom dipped in white sugar, which was a little too small - they came out a little puffy and craggy with little sparkles of sugar on them. Cute and yummy, but not your typical flat decorating sugar cookie. Either way, my daughter reports that everyone loved them, and the ones I tested were great, the almond flavor came through clearly, with just a hint of the warm from the spices, and they were sweet without being too sweet, so this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Taste great, but these are not sugar cookies. After I took them out of the oven I saw that they inflated (which is probably all the baking powder) and tasting them I found it had the texture of a biscuit. This is a very nice biscuit for tea, but not really a sugar cookie. I also added lemon zest and lemon juice but I can't really taste it, so next time I am going to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Baked these cookies with my kids and sister! OMG!! They melt in your mouth. Wonderful recipe that I will use again..Only took about 15 minutes to prepare. Cant wait for my husband and brother-in-law to taste after their long day at work. Taste like old fashion tea cakes. Loving it!!!!! ;-) Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a very good sugar cookie recipe, but I use vegetable oil instead of corn oil. I don't know what kind of difference this will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKLAHOMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I have been making these cookies since I was a teenager. They are so easy to make and have a nice flavor and soft texture. They can be iced with butter cream frosting dyed to match the event or holiday. This is the only sugar cookie I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I'm not normally one to rate recipes, but some of the less than stellar reviews on here led me to it. I loved this recipe! That being said, I did also add 1 tsp. of fresh squeezed lemon juice and dropped the vanilla by half a tsp. It really gave the cookies a lovely lemon flavor. It wasn't too overpowering, but don't do it if you aren't fond of the taste of lemon. Also, make sure to sift the flower and add the zested lemon. My cookie dough was a bit gooey, but held to its place when I dropped the dough onto the baking sheet. The cookies rose nicely and are somewhat cake like. A very refreshing cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I used powdered sugar (about 3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp) instead of granulated and they were really good. They're like shortbread without the butter aftertaste. I left out the lemon, added almond extract and cinnamon, and used cinnamon and sugar on top. I think they'd be good with the lemon or any flavor you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made these for my mother, her boyfriend and his 8 yr old son and we loved them!The 8 yr old doesn't usually eat much, even of dessert, and he ate 2 of the biggest! I personally think they are the best I've ever made and perhaps even some of the best I've eaten. I did omit the lemon zest however and I did half and half on the flour with whole wheat and white (and the 8 yr old who hates anything "healthy" never knew ;)). Thanks for this great recipe, I know I'll be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe. The cookies are not too sweet and the recipe was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
These were very quick and easy, they tasted just like sugar cookies. The only thing I did differently is use canola oil and dipped the glass in cinnamon sugar instead of regular sugar. These are the perfect cookies to make if you have no butter and you just need a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States