Stir Fry Tomato and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I've heard of tomatoes and eggs before, but never tried it. My sister looked green when I told her I was going to add tomatoes to our eggs and green onions, and she told me I had to add real onions and cheese to them too before she'd eat them. From her own words, "best eggs ever!" I loved these too! I will be making them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Instead of oil, I used two tablespoons butter. I also used 6 egg whites and two full eggs as to cut down on the fat/cholesterol content and I added fresh ground pepper. This was a quick breakfast that was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Tomatoes and eggs are a great combination. Recommend to try a different way. Heat pan with medium heat. Pull enough vegetable oil to coat the pan. Add coarsely chopped tomatoes in the pan and cook until tomatoes get soft and mushy. Then pull beaten eggs seasoned with pinch of salt over the tomatoes. If you like green onion, add it in egg mix. Let egg sit for about a minute before folding and scrambling, because tomatoes and eggs need some time to integrate. The recommend ratio of eggs to tomatoes is every 2 large eggs to a half of a regular vine ripe tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a breakfast staple in the Philippines, especially with the ilokanos. My family had their own way of cooking it. We add salt to the eggs, saute'ed the tomatoes in oil first, let it get a little soft, then add beaten eggs & green onion. you may also add a few drops of soy sauce before adding the eggs. asian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Simplicity is a valuable asset with some dishes and this one isn't any different. I made the dish exactly as the recipe indicated and loved it! I prefer a little more salt with the tomatoes and salted them before adding them to the eggs. It was very surprising to me that a previous reviewer with an 'expert' rating was disappointed that this dish tasted like scrambled eggs with tomatoes since the list of ingredients leaves nothing to the imagination. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes with the eggs. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was first taught this recipe when I was living in Tianjin China while on work assignment. The secret for truly authentic is to start the eggs on low temp and stir with chop sticks in order to get the long egg strains similar to egg drop soup. Take the eggs out and set aside. Turn up the heat to med-high, add a little more oil and then stir fry the tomatoes. Once done take off heat and add eggs back to wok to re temper and serve. Thanks for reminding me of this great authentic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I just made this as it sounded interesting--tasted like hot tomatoes and scambled eggs! That will be the only time I make it without additions like more onion, some spices, making it into an omlet and adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a staple in any Chinese household, including our own! Very simple, yet so good! re cheese and bacon -- This is a traditional Chinese dish, it isn't trying to be American breakfast food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I love this traditional Chinese recipe. It really is quick and easy to make, plus it tasted delicious. It may sound odd to mix tomatoes and eggs; but I think everyone should give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
For a quick, spicy twist I like to use one can of Rotelle, drained, as a substitute for the tomatoes. Couple that with a simple cheese quesadilla... mucho delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States