Stir-Fry Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I went about this a little differently. Rather than mixing the chicken with the soy sauce/broth mixture I reserved it until the end. I quickly stir-fried the thinly sliced chicken (easy to thin-slice if you partially freeze it first), then the vegetables. (Leaving on a jet plane day after tomorrow and this was the perfect recipe to clear out the fridge: broccoli, zucchini, onions, mushrooms, baby bok choy, red bell pepper and bean sprouts). I mixed it all together then and thickened it with the broth mixture, heating just until thickened. Additional cooking at this point is not required. We enjoyed this, tho' Hubs liked it more than I did. Purely subjective, but given the stronger tasting broccoli and bell pepper, I think beef would have been a better choice over the mildly flavored chicken. Again, just a matter of different taste buds! Most important with stir fries, where the ingredients are cooked quickly over high heat, all ingredients should be of similar size and thickness so that they all cook quickly and evenly at roughly the same rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
It is so delicious... I enjoy small pieces of chicken, it's easier for me to eat... My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! I used broccoli, onion, zucchini, green pepper and carrots. Whatever you do, don't forget to top it with fresh green onions and also I added toasted sesame seeds. Those additions just set it over the top! I served it over brown rice cooked with broth (or bouillon would work great too! ). I also let the chicken pieces soak for quite a while in the delicious sauce and I pierced the pieces with a fork so they were so tender and flavorful. This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisas74
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicouse and super easy! :) Definitely a do over!!! and over and over... and I submitted a pic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
The recipe is great. Just for ducks and to impart a little more flavor I used Sesame Oil instead of Vegetable. I also threw in some mushrooms. All in all delicious and easy to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serena
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a good recipe. I added tons of veggies including: broccoli, mushrooms, a red bell pepper, a green bell pepper, and asparagus. I also added Hosien sauce to the chicken mixture. I finished it off with noodles. This recipe was really filling for myself and others. I might try adding less veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have made this stir fry 4 times now! I add lots more veggies and Asiatica Spice Blend from Padma Lakshmi. I serve it over jasmine rice. Thank you Michael for sharing this delicious and healthy recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was really good. It was easy to make and you can add any veggies you want and make it your own. I didn't have green peppers so I used mushrooms, broccoli can of La Choy stir fry vegetables I had buried in the cabinet. It was perfect. My boys loved it. Don't need any extra seasoning. Flavored perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I gave this recipe a 5 star not because it is the best tasting but because it is good basic starting recipe that can be altered with spices, vegetables, meats and other ingredient. I have lived in China and the vegetables will vary from season to seasoned also region to region. Also with he spices. I lived with one of my students and his mom cooked some of the best meals I had while over there. Those new table cook tops that don't get hot until you place a steal pot on it are very popular there and many meals were cooked right there on the kitchen table in a wow. Oh, don'd cook over medium heat, only high heat. Oh, she did not add all vegetables at the same time, snow peas tool longer to cook than zuccini squash, so the longer cooking items went in first and the quicker cooking items last. Experiment, use Nuoc nam cause from Vietnam, beef broth. Anyway, have fun with it and don't get in a rut with using the same recipe over and over and not trying other things/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Felt it lacked spice or distinctive flavor. Had to add Sriracha to it and plentifully at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States