Stir-Fry Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe has potential but it needs to be tweaked. And yes, I rated the 4-star on the original recipe. I inherently knew while making the dish that the flavors wouldn't balance well, everything in the sauce has a bitter undertone & the amount of soy sauce it calls for is twice what you need. I agree that some brown sugar would be a nice balance to the second sauce recipe (that you pour over the broccoli). Also, I added a TBS of cornstarch to the broccoli sauce which thickened it nicely. I wonder if the instructions for putting the cornstarch in the chicken base sauce was just a typo. All it did was make a gooey mess in the sauté pan. I did double the amount of broccoli sauce, you need to if you plan on serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great recipe. I did not have the sambal oelek so I used sesame oil. It was easy to make, quick and delicious. I would make this anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good sauce! Halved the soy. May add a little brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I didn't have the sambal oelek, instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce. It was delicious! Next time I would add red peppers, mushrooms and zuchninni to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very good. But instead of soy sauce, I used Maggi, and since my husband and I like spicy, but my daughter and grandson don't, I added chili paste to my serving. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family loves this one. It has been a regular on our menu ever since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I just made it for Valentine's dinner, and my family enjoyed it. I used a couple less tablespoons of soy sauce; I also substituted hot sauce for the spicy element and added a little brown sugar based on another review I read. It came out great. I served it over white rice. It didn't take long at all. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I did a few changes, because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I also put in some brown sugar and that gave it a little bit of sweet taste. I also put in another Asian sweet and savor sauce because I didn't have oyster sauce. I am actually happy not to have oyster sauce. I just used frozen vegetables. It came out very good. I hope next time I remember how I did this. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Alas – if it weren’t for the fact that this is too heavy on the soy sauce this would have been a 5-star recipe. (See the overly brown chicken in my photo!) Seasonings otherwise delicious and spot on (except I used extra garlic and a pinch of ground ginger instead of fresh). For flavor and color contrast I went a little skimpier on the broccoli and added red bell pepper strips, sliced sweet onion and sliced mushrooms. This is a beautiful and deliciously flavored dish, one I’m certain to make again…with about half as much soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States