Stir-Fry Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I enjoyed this - I made it exactly as written except I had to substitute Port Wine (which is sweet) for the Dry Sherry, and I added Shitake Mushrooms. I thought it was odd that the Cornstarch is added to the chicken, but it worked. There was NOT too much soy for my family's taste, although we didn't need to add any to the Stir Fry on top of the Rice on our plates, which we would normally do. See my Pics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe has potential but it needs to be tweaked. And yes, I rated the 4-star on the original recipe. I inherently knew while making the dish that the flavors wouldn't balance well, everything in the sauce has a bitter undertone & the amount of soy sauce it calls for is twice what you need. I agree that some brown sugar would be a nice balance to the second sauce recipe (that you pour over the broccoli). Also, I added a TBS of cornstarch to the broccoli sauce which thickened it nicely. I wonder if the instructions for putting the cornstarch in the chicken base sauce was just a typo. All it did was make a gooey mess in the sauté pan. I did double the amount of broccoli sauce, you need to if you plan on serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great recipe. I did not have the sambal oelek so I used sesame oil. It was easy to make, quick and delicious. I would make this anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good sauce! Halved the soy. May add a little brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I didn't have the sambal oelek, instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce. It was delicious! Next time I would add red peppers, mushrooms and zuchninni to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very good. But instead of soy sauce, I used Maggi, and since my husband and I like spicy, but my daughter and grandson don't, I added chili paste to my serving. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family loves this one. It has been a regular on our menu ever since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I just made it for Valentine's dinner, and my family enjoyed it. I used a couple less tablespoons of soy sauce; I also substituted hot sauce for the spicy element and added a little brown sugar based on another review I read. It came out great. I served it over white rice. It didn't take long at all. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I did a few changes, because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I also put in some brown sugar and that gave it a little bit of sweet taste. I also put in another Asian sweet and savor sauce because I didn't have oyster sauce. I am actually happy not to have oyster sauce. I just used frozen vegetables. It came out very good. I hope next time I remember how I did this. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States