Stir-Fry Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe has potential but it needs to be tweaked. And yes, I rated the 4-star on the original recipe. I inherently knew while making the dish that the flavors wouldn't balance well, everything in the sauce has a bitter undertone & the amount of soy sauce it calls for is twice what you need. I agree that some brown sugar would be a nice balance to the second sauce recipe (that you pour over the broccoli). Also, I added a TBS of cornstarch to the broccoli sauce which thickened it nicely. I wonder if the instructions for putting the cornstarch in the chicken base sauce was just a typo. All it did was make a gooey mess in the sauté pan. I did double the amount of broccoli sauce, you need to if you plan on serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great recipe. I did not have the sambal oelek so I used sesame oil. It was easy to make, quick and delicious. I would make this anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good sauce! Halved the soy. May add a little brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I didn't have the sambal oelek, instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce. It was delicious! Next time I would add red peppers, mushrooms and zuchninni to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very good. But instead of soy sauce, I used Maggi, and since my husband and I like spicy, but my daughter and grandson don't, I added chili paste to my serving. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family loves this one. It has been a regular on our menu ever since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I just made it for Valentine's dinner, and my family enjoyed it. I used a couple less tablespoons of soy sauce; I also substituted hot sauce for the spicy element and added a little brown sugar based on another review I read. It came out great. I served it over white rice. It didn't take long at all. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I did a few changes, because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I also put in some brown sugar and that gave it a little bit of sweet taste. I also put in another Asian sweet and savor sauce because I didn't have oyster sauce. I am actually happy not to have oyster sauce. I just used frozen vegetables. It came out very good. I hope next time I remember how I did this. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Alas – if it weren’t for the fact that this is too heavy on the soy sauce this would have been a 5-star recipe. (See the overly brown chicken in my photo!) Seasonings otherwise delicious and spot on (except I used extra garlic and a pinch of ground ginger instead of fresh). For flavor and color contrast I went a little skimpier on the broccoli and added red bell pepper strips, sliced sweet onion and sliced mushrooms. This is a beautiful and deliciously flavored dish, one I’m certain to make again…with about half as much soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States