Stir-Fry Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This was very good. I used chicken tenderloins, which were very tender. I wanted to sweeten the sauce a bit, but am low-carbing it, so I added 2 packets of Splenda and 1/4 teaspoon of molasses. It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Thank you to all the reviewers who mentioned cutting the soy sauce. I cut it to a third, added brown sugar and it was fabulous. With the amount of soy called for in the recipe, though, it would have been way too overpowering, so that's why I only gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
It turned out well, but a bit too salty. I would've cut back on the soy sauce or used a low-sodium soy sauce. I added a large stalk of celery sliced on the diagonal with the rest of the vegetables in step 2 -- turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This so delicious! I switches hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrisC
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is one of thebest stir frys I've made. Great recipe, easy and fast. Next time I will try adding somebabybok choy and mushrooms,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I enjoyed this - I made it exactly as written except I had to substitute Port Wine (which is sweet) for the Dry Sherry, and I added Shitake Mushrooms. I thought it was odd that the Cornstarch is added to the chicken, but it worked. There was NOT too much soy for my family's taste, although we didn't need to add any to the Stir Fry on top of the Rice on our plates, which we would normally do. See my Pics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe has potential but it needs to be tweaked. And yes, I rated the 4-star on the original recipe. I inherently knew while making the dish that the flavors wouldn't balance well, everything in the sauce has a bitter undertone & the amount of soy sauce it calls for is twice what you need. I agree that some brown sugar would be a nice balance to the second sauce recipe (that you pour over the broccoli). Also, I added a TBS of cornstarch to the broccoli sauce which thickened it nicely. I wonder if the instructions for putting the cornstarch in the chicken base sauce was just a typo. All it did was make a gooey mess in the sauté pan. I did double the amount of broccoli sauce, you need to if you plan on serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great recipe. I did not have the sambal oelek so I used sesame oil. It was easy to make, quick and delicious. I would make this anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good sauce! Halved the soy. May add a little brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I didn't have the sambal oelek, instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce. It was delicious! Next time I would add red peppers, mushrooms and zuchninni to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States