Stir-Fried Vegetables with Chicken or Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this last nite. It was very good. I used broccoli, carrots, yellow bell pepper, celery, napa cabbage, and mushrooms. I cooked some meat first, then added the veg. I didn't need the cornstarch mixture. I used spicy oyster sauce and teriyaki instead of soy, just on a hunch. My husband and I loved it. I served it over rice. Good combination of flavors. The sauce was very good. I plan on making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My husband said "it's okay" and gave it 3 stars. I give it four but I like stir fry more than he does. Good way to get vegetables in though. My 2 year old (who is like most 2 year olds - picky eaters- wouldn't touch it) Served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Because of this recipe, my kids finally eat vegetables! It reminds them of a dish that we order at a restaurant so they are happy to eat it. I've done this with chicken..also beef and tonite with shrimp. The only real changes I made were to increase the cabbage to 2 cups and garlic to 6 cloves as requested by the family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Natick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I stir-fry all the time, and I thought this was delicious, but the cooking times a methods needed a little tweeking! I always blanch my veggies for about 4 minutes in boiling water (everything that is raw, even the celery and onions) and then run cold water over them as soon as they come out of the water. This makes them nice and crisp-tender. Also, the heat should be on almost the hottest setting and preheated well before adding the pork or chicken (I used teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin sliced thinly). Stir-fry meat for about 3 or 4 minutes, just until no longer pink, then add garlic (I also added fresh ginger at this point) and oyster sauce and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the blanched veggies. Cook until everything is heated through, then add the water/cornstarch mixture and any canned veggies (I used baby corn and canned bean sprouts) and cook for 1 more minute until sauce is thick. Stir-fry cooks very quickly, so have everything ready and set up on your counter to be tossed right in when needed! I served this over rice, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Its okay and easy. Would make it again, but need to find a way to give it a bit of zip . . . will read other reviews to see how others may have improved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Super easy. Used veggies I had on hand. Terrific flavor. I added red pepper flakes too but it would have been just as good without. Not one of those flavorless soupy stirfrys. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Really good and really easy to make. I love how I had all the ingredients on hand already. The veggies I used were zucchini, onion, mushroom, carrot, green onion, and broccoli. I ended up having to add more soy sauce and oyster sauce but I think it was because I used more veggies and chicken. This also tastes great with hot chili oil or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Recipe was very good and healthy. This was the first stir-fry that I have ever attempted to cook from scratch and it was easy as easy could be. I used sesame oil instead of oyster and it worked great. The portion size was great too, especially if you are on a diet and trying to incorporate vegetables into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I have tried dozens of stir fry recipes and this one rates at the top. I did do as others suggested and added a pinch of red pepper flakes for some heat and used freshly grated ginger when I sauteed the chicken along with the garlic and oyster sauce ( just because I LOVE ginger )- I substituted lite teriayki for the soy due to the sodium content. I also used only the veggies I had on hand, broccoli, sweet yellow pepper, scallions, carrot and celery. Nishana, I am grateful for your Asian friends too. The oyster sauce and the soy ( or teriayki as I used ) combine really well and make this a nice stir-fry with a taste that I am guessing I will crave down the line. So, this is defintely one recipe that will go into my rotation. Thanks again for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
A good, versitile base for a great stir fry. I added ginger, a more oyster sauce than called for and some siracha chile sauce for a kick. Could have used a little more garlic, but very good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States