Stir-Fried Vegetables with Chicken or Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Just starting to try different recipes, did this for the first time tonight, didn't have the mushroom soy sauce, so use the regular soy sauce but still tasted great. Easy to make and easy clean up... will do it again, maybe add a little more of the oyster sauce... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was probably the easiest stir fry I've ever prepared, and the tastiest! I didn't follow the instructions to a T as far as the vegetables, I just used up what I had in my fridge, which was broccoli, green onions, snow peas, eggplant and some red pepper. I had regular soy sauce and not mushroom. Also agree that it probably doesn't need the added salt, I like salty but next time probably won't add the extra as it's really not needed. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is a very good, basic stir fry recipe. I stir fry 2-3 times a week and am always looking for new methods/recipes to change things up. I would recommend a few changes, though: reduce the cooking times for your protein (chicken, shrimp, etc...) and vegetables (which I like al dente). I'm on a low sodium diet and found this a bit salty, even without the added salt; I'd suggest reducing the Oyster Sauce to 1 tablespoon mixed with 1 tablespoon of water. Lastly, I added almost a cup of water with the soy sauce and corn starch as I like a lot of sauce. Very tasty, easy to make stir fry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wow, looking at the amount of vegetables called for, any Asian person would say that this is enough food to feed an easy 8-10 people. Serve with boiled rice, with the portion being 2 parts rice, to 1 part entree. This is how an Asian family would serve it. A whole lot less calories, for sure. Oh, and hold back on the green onions, only one or two stalks are needed as they are to enhance the dish, not over-whelm it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a great basic recipe. I doubled the oyster sauce because I thought is was a little bland. Instead of water I used chicken broth for more flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Really good and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy1950
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Good recipe, low calory count, but I have a lot of Asian friends and they would never, ever add water. It would have to be chicken stock. Even in beef or fish stir fries, it would be chicken stock. Maybe with a hint of rice wine vinagar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious and fun to make. Mention was made of not having the exact vegetables as the original recipe........I think that's the fun of Stir Fry - you can use any/all the vegetables you wish and it turns out great. I also used regular soy sauce, since I didn't have the mushroom one. Served it with crispy noodles and rice - the choice was theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I stir-fry all the time, and I thought this was delicious, but the cooking times a methods needed a little tweeking! I always blanch my veggies for about 4 minutes in boiling water (everything that is raw, even the celery and onions) and then run cold water over them as soon as they come out of the water. This makes them nice and crisp-tender. Also, the heat should be on almost the hottest setting and preheated well before adding the pork or chicken (I used teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin sliced thinly). Stir-fry meat for about 3 or 4 minutes, just until no longer pink, then add garlic (I also added fresh ginger at this point) and oyster sauce and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the blanched veggies. Cook until everything is heated through, then add the water/cornstarch mixture and any canned veggies (I used baby corn and canned bean sprouts) and cook for 1 more minute until sauce is thick. Stir-fry cooks very quickly, so have everything ready and set up on your counter to be tossed right in when needed! I served this over rice, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States