Stir-Fried Vegetables with Chicken or Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a great basic recipe. I doubled the oyster sauce because I thought is was a little bland. Instead of water I used chicken broth for more flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Really good and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy1950
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Good recipe, low calory count, but I have a lot of Asian friends and they would never, ever add water. It would have to be chicken stock. Even in beef or fish stir fries, it would be chicken stock. Maybe with a hint of rice wine vinagar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious and fun to make. Mention was made of not having the exact vegetables as the original recipe........I think that's the fun of Stir Fry - you can use any/all the vegetables you wish and it turns out great. I also used regular soy sauce, since I didn't have the mushroom one. Served it with crispy noodles and rice - the choice was theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I stir-fry all the time, and I thought this was delicious, but the cooking times a methods needed a little tweeking! I always blanch my veggies for about 4 minutes in boiling water (everything that is raw, even the celery and onions) and then run cold water over them as soon as they come out of the water. This makes them nice and crisp-tender. Also, the heat should be on almost the hottest setting and preheated well before adding the pork or chicken (I used teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin sliced thinly). Stir-fry meat for about 3 or 4 minutes, just until no longer pink, then add garlic (I also added fresh ginger at this point) and oyster sauce and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the blanched veggies. Cook until everything is heated through, then add the water/cornstarch mixture and any canned veggies (I used baby corn and canned bean sprouts) and cook for 1 more minute until sauce is thick. Stir-fry cooks very quickly, so have everything ready and set up on your counter to be tossed right in when needed! I served this over rice, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was really good. I left out the teaspoon of salt and I'm glad I did, this was really salty without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I gave five stars, but I also made some adjustments and so I can't say if I would rate it the same had I made it straight from the recipes. At the beginning, in the oil, I added some Thai green curry paste to make the flavour more interesting. I omitted the salt half way through, and just used two packets of pre-cut stir fry vegetable mix for speed. Made this way, it definitely tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This will be my new stir fry recipe. Everyone enjoyed. I didn't add salt because I used soy sauce. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazy James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very easy and delicious! Stir frying vegetables with meat is something that I do quite often. I just use what I had in the refrigerator which was carrots, broccoli crowns, water chestnuts, zucchini, mushrooms, red onions, garlic, a medley of bell peppers (red, yellow and green) and seasoning. I blanched the broccoli in hot water and set it aside. I quickly sauteed the carrots and zucchini in sesame oil and set that aside as well. I already had leftover rotisserie chicken so I cut it up and sauteed it in a little sesame oil with minced garlic for about 5 minutes. I put back the carrots, zucchini, then added mushrooms and onions. I drizzled enough of the oyster sauce, to taste. I mixed in the soy sauce with cornstarch and poured it in the pot. Lastly, I added in the bell peppers. I seasoned with black pepper and Hawaiian sea salt. The vegetables were tender-crisp, chicken very tender and flavorful. The mixture of vegetables made for a colorful presentation. We served this tasty stir-fry dish over hot rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States