Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I make this with chicken and pork tenderloin! My husband says it's much better (and healthier) than that our favorite Chinese Restaurant! I do use extra pineapple juice for the sauce! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
the sauce was very tasty, i added carrot slices and watercrests (spelling???), and would make that again; however, the batter was a mess; clean up was bad enough, but the taste was not fit for consumption! next time i would just dust it with tempura flour or all purpose,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patidee
Photo by xXnicoleXx
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was easy ,it made great left-overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xXnicoleXx

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I skipped battering and frying the chicken, we cubed it, cooked it in about 1/2 TBS olive oil and added diced veggies (onion, carrots, green pepper and a little celery) and let that saute about 10 minutes while I prepped the sauce. I combined the sauce with the veggie/chicken mixture and stirred in some fresh diced pineapple at the very end. A very tasty meal! My husband and son liked this sauce better than the one I've been using. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I couldn't make it the way that is listed. I was really disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really like this recipe but there are a few changes I made that I have found in similar recipes: First, for the sauce instead of adding the Splenda and food coloring I added 1/4 cup of sugar (I prefer it) and 1/2 cup of ketchup. The ketchup makes it a great consistency, still has that sweet & sour coloring, and adds a great depth to the flavor. Second, instead of 2 green bell peppers, I added a yellow and red peppers. They add more color to the dish and have that sweetness that goes great with the sauce. Third, I found marinating the chicken in soy and lightly flouring and browning was a quicker, healthier way to cook the chicken. But still a great recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I could not tell the difference between this and what you would buy at a take-out restaurant. The girl friend couldn't tell the difference either. I was a bit worried about the sauce, but it came out fine. I followed the modified directions of another persons comments since I didn't have any Splenda. I used a half cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of sugar for the sauce. Everything came out just fine and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I dont like when I change the serving numbers on any recipe. I changed this one to 4 servings. The yeldings in the directions do not change and if you are not careful, you may mess up! Example: 1. Combine 1 1/2 cups water Should be 3/4 cups. 2. Combine flour, 2 tablespoons oil. Should be 1 tablespoons oil. If you are careful and catch this, this is a five star recipe in my humble opinion : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe. It came out absolutely delicious. I used a fresh pineapple for more flavor and it was amazing! I highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
i added a bit more seasoning to the chicken to bring up the flavor, the parsley and basil made it smell even better, the sauce was okay but i ended up doing it over using the ketchup and sugar instead, tasted so much better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaphisticaited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States