Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is delicious! I made it exactly to the recipe and my whole family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahforreal
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Great recipe! As other reviewers said, I did regular sugar and added ketchup. I also added more spices to the chicken batter (garlic and onion powder, ginger) My family thought this was better than the local restaurants! I won't be making it every day because it certainly isn't healthy and took a very long time overall to make, but this will be my go-to meal for date nights or special dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I have been trying out many various recipes for Sweet and Sour Sauce and I am happy to say I finally found one that my family loves. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. It's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've never been fond of homemade Chinese because it never tastes authentic, however, this was fantastic! I only made it for the hubs because the kids and I were having something else but I did taste it as I went along and it was great. I would've given 5 stars but I followed too many of the reviewers suggestions, which were very helpful. I lightly dusted the cut up chicken in seasoned flour and pan fried in evoo then removed and sauteed the bell pepper in same pan for 5 mins. then added the pineapple chunks and cooked till carmel-y, another 5 mins. Removed those and made sauce in same pan with 1/2 C. ketchup, 1/4 C. vinegar, 1 1/2 C. water, 1/2 C. sugar and reserved pineapple juice and s & p...brought to boil, removed from heat and added diluted cornstarch and whisked till thickened, served over jasmine rice. My husband nearly licked his plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
i added a bit more seasoning to the chicken to bring up the flavor, the parsley and basil made it smell even better, the sauce was okay but i ended up doing it over using the ketchup and sugar instead, tasted so much better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaphisticaited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe. It came out absolutely delicious. I used a fresh pineapple for more flavor and it was amazing! I highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I dont like when I change the serving numbers on any recipe. I changed this one to 4 servings. The yeldings in the directions do not change and if you are not careful, you may mess up! Example: 1. Combine 1 1/2 cups water Should be 3/4 cups. 2. Combine flour, 2 tablespoons oil. Should be 1 tablespoons oil. If you are careful and catch this, this is a five star recipe in my humble opinion : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I could not tell the difference between this and what you would buy at a take-out restaurant. The girl friend couldn't tell the difference either. I was a bit worried about the sauce, but it came out fine. I followed the modified directions of another persons comments since I didn't have any Splenda. I used a half cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of sugar for the sauce. Everything came out just fine and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really like this recipe but there are a few changes I made that I have found in similar recipes: First, for the sauce instead of adding the Splenda and food coloring I added 1/4 cup of sugar (I prefer it) and 1/2 cup of ketchup. The ketchup makes it a great consistency, still has that sweet & sour coloring, and adds a great depth to the flavor. Second, instead of 2 green bell peppers, I added a yellow and red peppers. They add more color to the dish and have that sweetness that goes great with the sauce. Third, I found marinating the chicken in soy and lightly flouring and browning was a quicker, healthier way to cook the chicken. But still a great recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I couldn't make it the way that is listed. I was really disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States