Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Loved, loved, loved this stir fry. I added a combination of fresh and frozen veggies I had on hand (broccoli, bean sprouts, snap peas, baby carrots), and a little bit of sugar and terriyaki to the soy sauce. I mixed the soy sauce and terriyaki sauce together in a jar (along with the bit of sugar I added), and then added as much as I thought the dish needed, with a little bit left over for next time.... The flavor was awesome, and it was very filling. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Bandstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
very tasty! chopped vegetables seem like quite a lot but gets all eaten up!! I substiuteted sugar snap peas for asparagus as I am not a fan of asparagus. In fact, I made everything in one skillet. Cooked rice, set aside. toasted sesame seeds after quickly cleaning the skillet, set aside and finally stir fried the veggies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My kids even liked it. I like to use short cuts during the week so I bought pre packaged stir fry vegetables in the veggie section. I also use a rice cooker. You can use chicken broth in it instead of water and it's easy without having to watch over it. You can use just about any veg combo and it will be great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This should get the most die-hard vegetable haters to eat their vegetables and love ‘em. I cooked the rice in butter, not margarine, and made the sesame seed thing easy on myself by using the already toasted variety. I deliberately omitted the ginger root, as I detest it as some folks do cilantro - purely a subjective thing. I made no changes to the vegetables called for, although so many would be equally as suitable. I finished it with a dab of butter and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I enjoyed this immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Yum! I used canola oil instead of the peanut oil and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was great. I added sliced carrots, a canned mixture of bamboo shoots/water chestnuts/baby corn, and 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts to the veggie mixture. I also reduced the ginger by a teaspoon (didn't want it too sweet). I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe, Verona!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Asparagus is expensive at $4.99/lb so I substituted Eating Right's pre-packaged Broccoli Stir Fry (with includes carrots, snap peas, and broccoli florets). This is my second attempt to cook a stir fry dish. The first recipe I tried was Robin Miller's (from Food Network's quick and easy meals). It was decent, nothing spectacular. But wow, this dish is richer and more flavorful, thanks to awesome combination of sesame oil and sesame seeds (adds a a nice texture and leaves a nutty lingering taste). I made a few modifications gleaned from other recipes I researched: I added about 1.3lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I cut into 1 1/2 inch strips, placed it in a zip lock bag, and tossed with 2 tbsp. of cornstarch (. In a separate bowl, I mixed soy sauce, garlic power and ground ginger and marinated the chicken overnight (30 minutes would do). I then cooked the chicken with the ginger and garlic. I also added veggies in 1-min intervals -- mixing in-between servings to saturate the veggies with flavor and to ensure that is it perfectly cooked. After adding a generous amount of soy sauce and before mixing in the sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds, I also dissolved 1 cup of chicken broth with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and let it simmer for 2 minutes to thicken the sauce. My husband's reaction after his first bite? "WOW!!!!" I savored this rare moment. He usually waits for me to ask, then gives a generic answer ("Everything you cook is delicious!"). This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
A versatile recipe to which you can use fresh, frozen or canned stir-fry veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The flavor was good, but it was so oily that neither I nor my room mate could eat much. My sister loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Delicious, Nutritious and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States