Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Good flavor; it tastes pretty close to authentic. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Combined this recipe with : Asian Beef and Vegetable Stir-Fry, another recipe on this site. My man wanted meat, so I added it for him. What a delicious combo! Great veggies, sauce and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I prepared this with the broiled tilapia parmesan recipe and I must say, it turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was just okay... Nothing overly Asian or flavourful about it. I made the rice as I usually do in a rice cooker which is just water and rice. I used a bag of frozen, sliced stir-fry oriental vegetables and two peppers (one each of red and green). I used jarred, minced ginger and peanut oil instead of sesame. The sesame seeds are a nice touch for visual appeal but don't add much to the dish. I found it to be somewhat bland and oily. Hubby-to-be liked it; served it with chicken teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Asparagus is expensive at $4.99/lb so I substituted Eating Right's pre-packaged Broccoli Stir Fry (with includes carrots, snap peas, and broccoli florets). This is my second attempt to cook a stir fry dish. The first recipe I tried was Robin Miller's (from Food Network's quick and easy meals). It was decent, nothing spectacular. But wow, this dish is richer and more flavorful, thanks to awesome combination of sesame oil and sesame seeds (adds a a nice texture and leaves a nutty lingering taste). I made a few modifications gleaned from other recipes I researched: I added about 1.3lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I cut into 1 1/2 inch strips, placed it in a zip lock bag, and tossed with 2 tbsp. of cornstarch (. In a separate bowl, I mixed soy sauce, garlic power and ground ginger and marinated the chicken overnight (30 minutes would do). I then cooked the chicken with the ginger and garlic. I also added veggies in 1-min intervals -- mixing in-between servings to saturate the veggies with flavor and to ensure that is it perfectly cooked. After adding a generous amount of soy sauce and before mixing in the sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds, I also dissolved 1 cup of chicken broth with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and let it simmer for 2 minutes to thicken the sauce. My husband's reaction after his first bite? "WOW!!!!" I savored this rare moment. He usually waits for me to ask, then gives a generic answer ("Everything you cook is delicious!"). This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Kinda bland. Had to add crushed red pepper. Served it with chicken egg rolls. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Just okay...nothing spectacular. Needs more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good with nutty flavor. It could be modified by using only 1.5 T peanut oil and be OK. It definitely warrants fresh vegetables. Did not modify recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this. Very tastey. I think I'll go a little lighter on the oil next time, not sure it needed as much as the recipe called for. Followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm always changing things up and using what I have on hand. Ground ginger instead of fresh, used chicken, brown rice instead of white, etc. It still came out deeeelish! I'll make again for sure. Probably with shrimp, mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FingerLickinGood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States