Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Asparagus is expensive at $4.99/lb so I substituted Eating Right's pre-packaged Broccoli Stir Fry (with includes carrots, snap peas, and broccoli florets). This is my second attempt to cook a stir fry dish. The first recipe I tried was Robin Miller's (from Food Network's quick and easy meals). It was decent, nothing spectacular. But wow, this dish is richer and more flavorful, thanks to awesome combination of sesame oil and sesame seeds (adds a a nice texture and leaves a nutty lingering taste). I made a few modifications gleaned from other recipes I researched: I added about 1.3lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I cut into 1 1/2 inch strips, placed it in a zip lock bag, and tossed with 2 tbsp. of cornstarch (. In a separate bowl, I mixed soy sauce, garlic power and ground ginger and marinated the chicken overnight (30 minutes would do). I then cooked the chicken with the ginger and garlic. I also added veggies in 1-min intervals -- mixing in-between servings to saturate the veggies with flavor and to ensure that is it perfectly cooked. After adding a generous amount of soy sauce and before mixing in the sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds, I also dissolved 1 cup of chicken broth with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and let it simmer for 2 minutes to thicken the sauce. My husband's reaction after his first bite? "WOW!!!!" I savored this rare moment. He usually waits for me to ask, then gives a generic answer ("Everything you cook is delicious!"). This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Kinda bland. Had to add crushed red pepper. Served it with chicken egg rolls. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Just okay...nothing spectacular. Needs more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good with nutty flavor. It could be modified by using only 1.5 T peanut oil and be OK. It definitely warrants fresh vegetables. Did not modify recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this. Very tastey. I think I'll go a little lighter on the oil next time, not sure it needed as much as the recipe called for. Followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm always changing things up and using what I have on hand. Ground ginger instead of fresh, used chicken, brown rice instead of white, etc. It still came out deeeelish! I'll make again for sure. Probably with shrimp, mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FingerLickinGood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I add chicken to the recipe for a complete meal. My family and I love the flavor and add our own touches of additional ginger root, broccoli, water chesnuts, bamboo shoots, and serve it over rice spaghetti. Great way to have the kids eat their veggie with no complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was AMAZING!! I used snow peas instead of asparagus, and forgot to add the sesame seeds. It was soooo yummy!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle2828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
EXCELLENT! I used coconut oil instead for a little extra health benefit. I also used crushed (jarred) ginger, as I didn't have the root available. It turned out very tasty. This will become a staple in our house! My little ones loved it too! You must try this easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My girlfriend gave this dish a "7*" AND I had forgotten to buy the sesame seeds to boot! Only other thing I changed was to use teriyaki sauce instead of soya. Never had asperagus in a stir-fry - normally not crazy about asperagus, but in this dish, it was very tasty. Can use this recipe with other veggies as well as marinated beef, pork, chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States