Stir-Fried Sesame Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Stir-fried Sesame Asparagus Haiku: "This was just okay. Would rather roasted or grilled. Still, we're glad we tried!" Thanks for the new way to prepare asparagus as a side dish; the ginger and sesame seeds were nice additions (used only sesame oil - no peanut oil - and that was my only small change. For a side, we prefer grilling or roasting our asparagus; however, the flavors in this recipe would've been very good w/ the addition of chicken, onions and other veggies for an all-out stir-fry main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Fantastic as is. Although I used a bit less ginger. ( not a big fan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Van Hullebush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made a variation of this tonight, because I wanted to make a stir fry meal out of it. I cut up 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and coated it with corn starch. Stir frying the chicken until done, I removed it from the pan and then added the asparagus with 4 sliced green onions, stir frying with the ginger, until hot. I then added the chicken back in to warm up total pan. I sprinkled it with sesame seeds and a light amount of dried red pepper flakes, to add some "heat". Once off the stove, I drizzled lightly with sesame oil and mixed. We had it over brown rice and it was a hit! Will be making it again! Thanks for the idea and the jump start to a new dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
With a few modifications, this was an amazing recipe! This can be a side dish as is, or add some chicken for a main dish! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Not Bad. A tad bland for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Way too nutty. Over powered the taste of the asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Outstanding!! The only change I made was an attempt to use just a little less oil for stir frying as I'm trying to concentrate on lowering calories in my cooking. I can't wait to share this with friends and extended family. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this today for Easter dinner, and everyone loved it. I didn't have peanut oil, so used olive oil instead. Also, used 3 cloves of garlic, chopped, instead of ginger, since I'm not a big fan of ginger. I'll make this again, but I'll cook the asparagus in the sesame oil for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Fabulous. A new "go to" recipe for asparagus. I usually roast asparagus but this was great -- and could all be done on the stovetop. Great in hot weather. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
so tasty just like it is... but I found adding some mushrooms and shredded chicken turned it from a yummy side dish to a quick easy main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States