Stir-Fried Sesame Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Stir-fried Sesame Asparagus Haiku: "This was just okay. Would rather roasted or grilled. Still, we're glad we tried!" Thanks for the new way to prepare asparagus as a side dish; the ginger and sesame seeds were nice additions (used only sesame oil - no peanut oil - and that was my only small change. For a side, we prefer grilling or roasting our asparagus; however, the flavors in this recipe would've been very good w/ the addition of chicken, onions and other veggies for an all-out stir-fry main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Fantastic as is. Although I used a bit less ginger. ( not a big fan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made a variation of this tonight, because I wanted to make a stir fry meal out of it. I cut up 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and coated it with corn starch. Stir frying the chicken until done, I removed it from the pan and then added the asparagus with 4 sliced green onions, stir frying with the ginger, until hot. I then added the chicken back in to warm up total pan. I sprinkled it with sesame seeds and a light amount of dried red pepper flakes, to add some "heat". Once off the stove, I drizzled lightly with sesame oil and mixed. We had it over brown rice and it was a hit! Will be making it again! Thanks for the idea and the jump start to a new dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
With a few modifications, this was an amazing recipe! This can be a side dish as is, or add some chicken for a main dish! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Not Bad. A tad bland for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Way too nutty. Over powered the taste of the asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Outstanding!! The only change I made was an attempt to use just a little less oil for stir frying as I'm trying to concentrate on lowering calories in my cooking. I can't wait to share this with friends and extended family. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this today for Easter dinner, and everyone loved it. I didn't have peanut oil, so used olive oil instead. Also, used 3 cloves of garlic, chopped, instead of ginger, since I'm not a big fan of ginger. I'll make this again, but I'll cook the asparagus in the sesame oil for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Fabulous. A new "go to" recipe for asparagus. I usually roast asparagus but this was great -- and could all be done on the stovetop. Great in hot weather. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
so tasty just like it is... but I found adding some mushrooms and shredded chicken turned it from a yummy side dish to a quick easy main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States