Stir-Fried Mushrooms with Baby Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I really liked this and wouldn't change a thing next time. I did use can baby corn because that is all I have available here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was a good low calorie dish! I added two chicken breasts chicken and used two cans of baby corn so I doubled the sauces to make sure there was enough. I used shiitake mushrooms which were good but will try others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This turned out to be a very nice, light, tasty side dish. Browning the garlic really added flavor! Used chili paste in the sauce instead of an actual pepper as topping as some have recommended. Omitted the cornstarch mix in due to the sauce having a nice consistency already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Yum! I did omit the chili pepper as I didn't have one on hand, but I sprinkled with crushed red pepper flakes while cooking to add a little spice. This tastes a lot like the mushroom side dish I always order at my favorite Chinese restaurant. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I liked this recipe, my husband said it was just ok. To be fair, I did have to make a lot of changes: 1. To make the recipe kosher, I omitted both the fish sauce and oyster sauce. I subbed the 2 of them with 1 tablespoon soy sauce. 2. When I went to cut up my mushrooms it turned out they were spoiled, so I had to use canned instead. I also used canned baby corn. 3. I threw in some cubed chicken cutlets to make a full meal. 4. I added some crushed red pepper flakes instead of the red chile pepper. I also left out the cilantro. Overall it was good but not 5 stars. I will try it again using fresh mushrooms. EDIT: Tonight I made it again using fresh mushrooms- made a world of difference. I also used 2 Tb soy sauce and 1 Tb Worcestershire for the fish+oyster+soy sauce, which also made a huge difference. I added 4 chicken cutlets like last time but left the sauce the same and it was still enough. Used dried instead of fresh cilantro. Overall a healthy, filling, and tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I had never used fresh baby corn, but I found some at Wegman's and decided to give this a try. I also added one bok choy to the mix, and used low sodium soy sauce. The end result was so good! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe. I skipped the corn starch and extra water. The liquid released by the mushrooms and the soy, fish and oyster sauces provided plenty. I added a small can of diced (mild) chile peppers. The next time I make this recipe, I will double it and make 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious. I had no fish sauce so substituted two parts soy to one part lime juice. Also had no chiles so I threw in a little crushed red pepper. Left out the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this as a side dish for the "Barbequed Thai-Style Chicken" recipe. It complemented it quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this a while ago and forgot to rate it. Very good! I like mushrooms and I like baby corn so I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States