Stir-Fried Mushrooms with Baby Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I didn't use the corn, red chile pepper or cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. I followed all the other steps as written. Tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This turned out to be a very nice, light, tasty side dish. Browning the garlic really added flavor! Used chili paste in the sauce instead of an actual pepper as topping as some have recommended. Omitted the cornstarch mix in due to the sauce having a nice consistency already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious, and definitely a recipe I would make again. The best part is, this sauce base could be used with all sorts of meat and veggies. To be fair, here are the changes I made: chili sauce instead of the chili pepper; added 2 small chicken breasts, which made it a main dish and also gave it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe. I skipped the corn starch and extra water. The liquid released by the mushrooms and the soy, fish and oyster sauces provided plenty. I added a small can of diced (mild) chile peppers. The next time I make this recipe, I will double it and make 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious. I had no fish sauce so substituted two parts soy to one part lime juice. Also had no chiles so I threw in a little crushed red pepper. Left out the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this as a side dish for the "Barbequed Thai-Style Chicken" recipe. It complemented it quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was delicious!!!! My husband thought it was good but not great but I however loved it! I've been trying to find a good asian stir fry veggie recipe to go with the Baked Teriyaki Chicken from this site! The changes I made were adding more garlic because I love it! I also used canned baby corn because I couldn't find any fresh & have never seen it fresh. I left out the fish sauce since I didn't have any so what I did was use 2TBSP soy sauce to make up for it, I also used 2TBSP oyster sauce since I added fresh broccoli to the dish & it needed more sauce. I also used red pepper flakes while stir frying since I didn't have any chili pepper. It was good my only complaint was I think I will add less cornstarch or leave it out all together next time. I know the sauce is suppose to thicken up a bit to stick but it was a little too thick for me. But still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I really liked this and wouldn't change a thing next time. I did use can baby corn because that is all I have available here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I liked this recipe, my husband said it was just ok. To be fair, I did have to make a lot of changes: 1. To make the recipe kosher, I omitted both the fish sauce and oyster sauce. I subbed the 2 of them with 1 tablespoon soy sauce. 2. When I went to cut up my mushrooms it turned out they were spoiled, so I had to use canned instead. I also used canned baby corn. 3. I threw in some cubed chicken cutlets to make a full meal. 4. I added some crushed red pepper flakes instead of the red chile pepper. I also left out the cilantro. Overall it was good but not 5 stars. I will try it again using fresh mushrooms. EDIT: Tonight I made it again using fresh mushrooms- made a world of difference. I also used 2 Tb soy sauce and 1 Tb Worcestershire for the fish+oyster+soy sauce, which also made a huge difference. I added 4 chicken cutlets like last time but left the sauce the same and it was still enough. Used dried instead of fresh cilantro. Overall a healthy, filling, and tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I had never used fresh baby corn, but I found some at Wegman's and decided to give this a try. I also added one bok choy to the mix, and used low sodium soy sauce. The end result was so good! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States