Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a great way to cook any type of green. I have also added a little green onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Yummy! We loved the texture in this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I should have read the reviews first. Thanks for giving us a great start on a new recipe for kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I took the advice of others and steamed the kale in the frying pan, so it had a nice texture. My problem was a lack of flavour! My boyfriend commented that it "tastes like nothing" - which, I suppose if you dislike the taste of kale, is fine. Next time, will season more with salt/pepper and possibly some other goodies from my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Wow! I never liked kale before I tried this recipe... Followed the advice of others and cooked the onion and garlic first, added the kale with a splash of water and covered it for a minute or so. Threw in the breadcrumbs at the end and tossed it all together with a bit of sea salt and a splash of lemon juice. I had a bit left over, which I ate cold, straight out of the fridge the next day. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Like this recipe a lot, but made a few changes to how it was prepared - fried up the garlic and onion in the oil first, then added the (curly) kale, turned the heat right up, then added some water (a few splashes) which then turned to steam and cooked the kale through. After all the liquid was absorbed, added the breadcrumbs and some salt and served up with some parmesan shavings for extra flavour. Disappeared really fast so must've done something right ;) Thanks for the original receipe - great way to do kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I think I must have done something wrong :-( !! I tried twice, the second time on lower heat, but both times the kale burned too easily. I think it may require some water.... Obviously this recipe worked well for a lot of people, so I would like a little more detail about preparation so that I, too, can have tasty kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
There is something not quite right with the way you cook the kale in this recipe. How can it cook properly with no steam and no oil (the oil is all absorbed by the bread crumbs before you add the kale.) Well, it did eventually get cooked by contact with the heat on the bottom of the pan and constant stirring, but my children commented that you had to chew the stuff forever. But I did like the flavor of the breadcrumb mixture, it was a good addition. Next time I would cook it separately though while steaming the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I was shocked at how good this is! Like other recommended I sauted the garlic and onion, then added the kale cooking until is wilted and got shiny. Then sprinkled about 3-4 Tbsp Italian breadcrumbs over it, stirring to mix. I thought this would be good with bacon bits or ham chunks. This will definately become my standard way of cooking kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
this was a wonderful base recipe! i took the advice of others and added my breadcrumbs after wilting the kale a few minutes. i always trim away the stems(don't care for the flavor), and use the leaves only of the greens. i began the recipe sauteeing the onions but i minced some hick cut bacon, and reduced the olive oil to about a tsp. then i added the garlic, then the kale, and afer wilting i added about a 1/4 breadcrumbs. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States