Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I loved my grandmother's kale but never could duplicate it. I saw this recipe and decided to try it. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil and then added some italian breadcrumbs. I took others' advice and cut the kale into pieces and steamed it in organic chicken broth and then added the onion, garlic and breadcrumbs back into the kale, leaving whatever chicken broth was left. It was really good. THEN.. since I had leftover turkey and stuffing, I added a couple of tablespoons of stuffing and cut up some turkey into it... WOW.. it was delicious. I had made corn bread stuffing so it was kinda sweet, which helped balance the kale's bitterness. I loved it so much, I had it for breakfast and instead of adding turkey, I used two small slices of canadian bacon... Delicious... Will definitely use this recipe with other greens as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
pretty decent. added pepper and seasoned salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I sauted the garlic and onion first and then added the kale. Stir frying alone left it a little chewy, so like others, I then added chicken broth and let it simmer until tender. My hubby loved it. Thank you Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I also removed the breadcrumb onions after they were finished. I put about 1/4 cup of veggie broth in the skillet before I added the kale then put a lid on it. I stirred a couple of times and let it cook/steam for about 5-6 minutes. When all the broth was gone and the kale tender, I added the onions and stirred. I found the dish really tasty! Next time I will chop the kale a bit more rather than just a rough chop. Thanks for quick recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I love kale and this is by far my favorite way to eat it! I used vidalia onions and all organic ingredients for a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but this dish seems strange to me. When I put the bread crumbs in, it absorbed all the oil, leaving the kale very dry. I believe it needs a wet ingredient to hold the dry ingredients together because it wasn't mixing well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was ok. My 6 year old hated it but I didn't mind. Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
It was good. A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
yummy! i eat solo, so i scaled it down to 2 servings. i took the recommendations of others & cooked the kale separately. i always tear the leaf from the stem, & use the water from rinsing to steam it. i also prefer my kale slightly wilted , just after it turns bright. typically when i make 2 servings of something, it will be a nice 1 serving main course, but not this one! i used most of the onion mixture for just 1/2 the kale. i didn't cook the other 1/2 yet. perhaps i'll make this again tomorrow w/ other modifications. it's quick & simple, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a great way to cook any type of green. I have also added a little green onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States