Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
1) Don't be alarmed by the amount/bulk of fresh kale called for. It reduces so much that you really do need at least 1/2 lb. to get one adult serving. 2) Use a LARGE saute pan or skillet, as the kale needs a lot of surface area to stir fry. If you prepare it in a Dutch oven or a small pan that forces you to pile the kale up, you will not get rid of the water and the kale will saute instead of stir frying. 3) Wilt the kale for no more than 5 minutes. 4) Most Important: Use fewer bread crumbs, and remove the bread-crumb coated onions before adding the kale. Once the kale has stir-fried, put it in a serving dish and add the onions on top. It is a nicer presentation, because loose bread crumbs spread over the kale and make it appear less appetizing. I've never been able to keep the bread crumbs on the onions if I keep them in the pan while I fry the kale. 5) Try this with the Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Nothin' like a mess a' greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Enjoyable. Next time I make this, I would use less bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I enjoyed the flavor combination in this recipe but it was so dry and, well, bread crumb-y. Its a good base concept for kale, though, and I'm looking forward to experimenting with this recipe. I think next time I'll use more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
At the recommendation of our eye doctor we are trying to add more 'greens' to our diet. I had a little trouble swallowing this kale (literally), but I think the next try might be better. What I will do differently next time is to remove the larger stems and chop only the leaves. I will also add more onion because it adds a nice sweetness to the dish, and will cook it all longer so it isn't so chewey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is a good vegetable recipe and we liked it allot. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Nice and garlicky, but a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have not tried this recipe yet. I would like to ask Heather or any reviewers a question. Are the bread crumbs supposed to be fresh or dried? I am thinking they would be fresh. Am I right? Please advise in a review. I will be looking for your answer. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Loved the fact that this is not the typical wet,cooked-to-disintegration greens recipe. This recipe has tremendous potential for variations. As is, I think it's rather bland, but I scaled it down to two servings and added 2-3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. Other options I plan to try are: Mrs. Dash's seasonings; balsamic vinegar with golden raisins and pine nuts; tarragon. Probably not a dish that appeals to children and teens, but definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Yummy!!! I used spinach and swiss chard instead of kale, and only 3T of oil. Tasted wonderful, even my veggie-hating hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States