Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Like this recipe a lot, but made a few changes to how it was prepared - fried up the garlic and onion in the oil first, then added the (curly) kale, turned the heat right up, then added some water (a few splashes) which then turned to steam and cooked the kale through. After all the liquid was absorbed, added the breadcrumbs and some salt and served up with some parmesan shavings for extra flavour. Disappeared really fast so must've done something right ;) Thanks for the original receipe - great way to do kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Wow! I never liked kale before I tried this recipe... Followed the advice of others and cooked the onion and garlic first, added the kale with a splash of water and covered it for a minute or so. Threw in the breadcrumbs at the end and tossed it all together with a bit of sea salt and a splash of lemon juice. I had a bit left over, which I ate cold, straight out of the fridge the next day. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
1) Don't be alarmed by the amount/bulk of fresh kale called for. It reduces so much that you really do need at least 1/2 lb. to get one adult serving. 2) Use a LARGE saute pan or skillet, as the kale needs a lot of surface area to stir fry. If you prepare it in a Dutch oven or a small pan that forces you to pile the kale up, you will not get rid of the water and the kale will saute instead of stir frying. 3) Wilt the kale for no more than 5 minutes. 4) Most Important: Use fewer bread crumbs, and remove the bread-crumb coated onions before adding the kale. Once the kale has stir-fried, put it in a serving dish and add the onions on top. It is a nicer presentation, because loose bread crumbs spread over the kale and make it appear less appetizing. I've never been able to keep the bread crumbs on the onions if I keep them in the pan while I fry the kale. 5) Try this with the Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this as the recipe called for and the kale was too chewy and so I made a simple modification and its awesome. I removed the thick rib in the middle of the kale and chopped it up. Then boiled it x 10 min. Meanwhile cook onion and garlic in frying pan and added some salt,pepper and small amt of hot pepper flakes. Then put the boiled drained kale in the olive oil/onion mixture with salt and pepper and it was really good. Even people who thought they did not like kale enjoyed it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Great way to quickly and easily cook any type of green - I would suggest that when you need to add moisture you add veg or chicken broth in lieu of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAUNGDS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This is a good recipe for Kale. I added some butter & parmesean cheese. Not quite as healthy, but a good way to get the rest of my family to eat their veggies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Yummy! This was very easy and very tasty. I will make this again. I found that I needed to add water while it was cooking but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
yummy! i eat solo, so i scaled it down to 2 servings. i took the recommendations of others & cooked the kale separately. i always tear the leaf from the stem, & use the water from rinsing to steam it. i also prefer my kale slightly wilted , just after it turns bright. typically when i make 2 servings of something, it will be a nice 1 serving main course, but not this one! i used most of the onion mixture for just 1/2 the kale. i didn't cook the other 1/2 yet. perhaps i'll make this again tomorrow w/ other modifications. it's quick & simple, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Mmmmm, delish! Even better with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Wonderfull! Thankyou for such a great recipe. This is the best way I have ever tasted kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States